• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Photographer working on Trainspotting project

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harry E

My name is Harry and I am a Photographer.

I am interested in creating a documentary style project focusing on Trainspotting as well as the people who have made it their passion as its long been something that has intrigued me.

The project would be submitted to the British Journal of Photography.

In order for me to make this a reality I am looking to start speaking with avid Trainspotters in and around London.

My local stations are Victoria and Peckham Rye but would like to travel around to the outskirts of London.

Please let me know if anyone can help.

Thanks
Harry

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

shredder1

Established Member
I think the very word trainspotters may put quite a few off, sadly its been much stigmatised over the years by the media, rail enthusiast may be more helpful, but from watching 60 plus years of these types of documentaries, I`ve yet to see our hobby shine.

Harry E

Hello Shredder1,

Thanks for the advice. This is exactly what I am trying to do, change peoples opinions of this hobby, I would like to capture the sense of community, friendship and camaraderie that Im sure must be strong among groups of enthusiasts.

Do you have any friends in London who you could put me in touch with, or any stations that are particularly popular with enthusiasts's?

Thanks
Harry

LCC106

Established Member
In the absence of any responses you could speak to the staff at your local stations, ask if they have any spotters and if it would be ok to access the platforms to speak to them.

Robertj21a

On Moderation
My name is Harry and I am a Photographer.