• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Police Smart Card

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bensonby

Hi all, long time lurker, long time train nerd, first time poster.

I’m a police officer in the Met Police and have been a member of the “ATOC” travel scheme since it’s inception. Essentially, for a monthly fee I have unlimited travel in south east England on National Rail services (circa 70 miles from CHX). Until now I have had a paper ticket which I show with my warrant card. However, as of today I have been issued with a smart card that I must use instead.

Apparently you must touch in and out at the end of a journey but apparently it’s also perfectly permissable to buy an extenstion ticket and, if so, you must not touch out beyond the scheme boundary or you will be charged a penalty. What is unclear is what happens with the “incomplete” journey on the smart card. We have also been told that there is no need to alight to touch out at the scheme boundary (that would be absurd and inconvenient). However, I’ve not been able to get a straight answer from the Met’s HR department and the T&C’s letter that came with the card was unclear.

Any ideas?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Mojo

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Administrator
Is the Smartcard one that has been issued by the police or is it with Train company branding (eg. “The Key” etc)?

Bensonby

It’s issued by (and remains the property of) the Rail Delivery Group. It has Met Police branding though. See the upload: I’ve covered my warrant number which would identify me.

Attachments

• 13331E43-02C1-43B5-BD5B-D4BF956D90B1.jpeg
    13331E43-02C1-43B5-BD5B-D4BF956D90B1.jpeg
    1.4 MB · Views: 431

BurtonM