• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Prospective Trainee Driver

Status
Not open for further replies.

Albert

Hello Everyone

This is my first post. I have been thinking about a career as a train driver for some time now, but was never sure how to get into the industry. I have been doing a lot of research lately on the web, so have found quite a bit of information. I am 42 next month and am worried that might be an issue, also I have no experience in the rail industry unless riding on trains counts! I do have a lot of experience in dealing with customers during the 10yr I ran my own business. I have worked for long periods on my own and worked funny shifts during the 20yrs I have held my HGV licence. I do have a bit of knowledge of how to fix things when they go wrong and don't ring the depot every 5 minutes. I am educated to degree level.

I have looked into sitting the assessment at Doncaster with DB Schenker, but would there be an advantage to doing this?

How many trainee driver jobs are advertised externally each year on average?

How do other staff take to the 'newbie' drivers from outside the industry? Personally I have always got on with most people (apart from the ones nobody gets on with).

Is there scope for doing overtime after the 35hr week?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Fig

I concur with Ravey Davy from The Navy.
You seem to be ticking a lot of the boxes that recruiters look for.
If you haven't already, check out http://www.railwayregister.care4free.net/
Don't worry about your age. I'm 40 and it hasn't been an issue so far.
Vacancies appear to be on the rise at the moment. Check out each TOC's website weekly, at least.
See other threads for info on assessments at DB Schenker.