• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Real life driving techniques in TSW?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fred57

Newbie here, so a big hello !

I've been using TSW2020 and really enjoying trying to get it as realistic as possible, so the safety systems on (still to add DRA, will get to that next!) and trying to stick to the timetables as far as possible. One thing I'm not clear about is how trains are driven in real life - so for example on the Class 166 on GWE, as soon as the doors are closed I can just set the throttle to 7 immediately, the train will accelerate as soon as the vacuum pressure drops on the brakes, and then go (speed limits permitting) at that setting until a few hundred yards from the next station and just bung on the emergency brake to stop as quickly as possible. Now that's an extreme example. Or is it? So what do real life drivers do?

- Always start at low throttle then accelerate more as they speed up?
- Never use more than brakes 1? (or 2? or 3?)
- Is using emergency brake setting seen as bad?
- Is minimal use of power/diesel an issue? (Like with diesel bonus for HGV drivers)
- Do you leave the reverser in forward in stations or move to neutral?
- Do you leave the brake on Full or on Emergency when stopped?
- is there a standard speed in stations, eg a suggested 20mph max when next to the platform?
- is there a standard approach speed to stations? Eg drop to 60 half mile out?

I guess there are a million more little things like that and that they might vary by class but are there some general guidelines? Is there a guide to these things somewhere? I've looked on Steam and can't find anything and I've watched a few videos but I haven't found anything authoritative yet.

Real life guidance appreciated!