RealTimeTrains website: is the project dead or alive?

Discussion in 'Allocations, Diagrams & Timetables' started by Nagora, 16 Aug 2019.

  1. KingJ

    KingJ Member

    Messages:
    131
    Joined:
    23 Dec 2012
    Although not part of Network Rail's open data feeds, First Class info is now available via the public Live Departure Boards Web Service (LDBWS) API. Specifically as part of the coach data, which includes the class, loading level, number/letter and toilet status. There's one rather large caveat to this however in that LDBWS has the capability of showing it but very few services have it populated at the moment! Even so, integrating with the LDBWS API is not a simple matter, especially if trying to correlate it to other open data sources. Although it is technically possible, it's something I wouldn't expect to see on RTT.

    The best way to go about this currently is probably to subscribe to RailMiles.
     
  2. LA50041

    LA50041 Member

    Messages:
    608
    Joined:
    20 Feb 2017
    Seems to be having problems last couple of days. The Railmiles side of the site seems to be experiencing problems matching data with RTT and no response to emails
     
  3. Tom

    Tom Member

    Messages:
    276
    Joined:
    19 Jan 2008
    Location:
    35,000ft
    Other than taking data from RTT, RailMiles has nothing to do with it and sits entirely separately to it. I've replied to all the emails on the support system that I've seen with respect to the problem.

    There's an intermittent connectivity issue between the Gatwick and London DCs that is inhibiting data reliably being sent to RailMiles historical data store. That system is moving to London today and will be resolved by the morning.
     
  4. gazr

    gazr Member

    Messages:
    231
    Joined:
    24 Mar 2014
    I'll ask here, seeing as the website owner responds :) Any reason why station autocomplete has stopped working (is it intentional?) This is when using 'advanced'. Thanks for the site and all you do to keep it going.
     
  5. 800002

    800002 Member

    Messages:
    506
    Joined:
    19 Jun 2019
    Think you want his tread here: :)
    https://www.railforums.co.uk/threads/location-on-real-time-trains.190197/

    EDIT: To quote, Freightmaster.
     
  6. Mex I can

    Mex I can Member

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    6 Aug 2019
    I noticed the auto complete had disappeared, but my iPhone has started auto completing for Mexborough and Barnsley anyway.

    I think it’s an excellent site for both travellers and spotters, but it does sometimes leave me wondering where trains have disappeared to. In particular, freight and Cross Country trains are down as approaching Mexborough and never pass...
     
  7. Peter C

    Peter C Established Member

    Messages:
    1,412
    Joined:
    13 Oct 2018
    Location:
    Loading...
    Are you sure these are cases where a train will definitely run, or are they just paths for a service which RTT shows?

    -Peter
     
  8. 66Yorks

    66Yorks Member

    Messages:
    212
    Joined:
    17 Apr 2015
    Location:
    England
  9. LA50041

    LA50041 Member

    Messages:
    608
    Joined:
    20 Feb 2017
    Clearly I’m obviously not important enough as a subscriber to have my email that was sent yesterday responded to then. Glad to hear you are doing something about it
     
  10. Tom

    Tom Member

    Messages:
    276
    Joined:
    19 Jan 2008
    Location:
    35,000ft
    I cannot see any emails from yesterday about it in the old system - there was a transition to a new one today. If you haven't had an automatic reply from the support ticketing system then it wasn't received. If you have, then send a ticket number to me by PM.
     
  11. LA50041

    LA50041 Member

    Messages:
    608
    Joined:
    20 Feb 2017
    Email sent to support @railmiles.me on 2nd sept @ 2107. No ticket number received
     
  12. Tom

    Tom Member

    Messages:
    276
    Joined:
    19 Jan 2008
    Location:
    35,000ft
    To prove the project is not dead... https://twitter.com/swlines/status/1171873606479097856

    I still can't see a ticket from you and I've searched quite thoroughly. In any case this issue is now resolved.
     
  13. PHILIPE

    PHILIPE Established Member

    Messages:
    10,425
    Joined:
    14 Nov 2011
    Location:
    Caerphilly
    Noticed a strange one today in respect of Llanelli. Up to about 1130 The Platform numbers, just 1 and 2, for trains but afterwards they changed to UPL and DPL instead of the numbers
     
    Last edited: 12 Sep 2019 at 09:18
  14. 800002

    800002 Member

    Messages:
    506
    Joined:
    19 Jun 2019
    The DPL / UPL codes only appear on schedules which have been cancelled / part cancelled (and freight schedules).
    ALL of tomorrow's (Thursday) schedules though appear to have the UPL / DPL designation.
    Having said that, the WTT schedules All use UPL / DPL... and looking back in time, RTT amends the display to read 1/2.
    If the train doesn't run (at Llanelli) the UPL / DPL won't be amended.

    The reason for this - totally unknown to me!
     
  15. Tom

    Tom Member

    Messages:
    276
    Joined:
    19 Jan 2008
    Location:
    35,000ft
    We update the DPL/UPL codes to the platform numbers on train movement through the platform, derived from the Train Describer.
     
  16. 800002

    800002 Member

    Messages:
    506
    Joined:
    19 Jun 2019
    May one enquire as to why?
    (Idle curiosity....)
     
  17. Tom

    Tom Member

    Messages:
    276
    Joined:
    19 Jan 2008
    Location:
    35,000ft
    DPL and UPL are not platform numbers. RTT currently isn't intelligent enough to do the conversion at the schedule stage.
     
  18. Mag_seven

    Mag_seven Established Member

    Messages:
    4,991
    Joined:
    1 Sep 2014
    Location:
    here to eternity
    I wasn't and I'm glad to see it's back
     
  19. theironroad

    theironroad Established Member

    Messages:
    2,342
    Joined:
    21 Nov 2014
    Location:
    London
    Firstly, thanks for heads up that it is back.

    While I'm pretty confident on many 3 letter CRS codes due to a number of years in a booking office, there are plenty of locations where the autofill is very useful indeed and I'm glad it's back too.
     
  20. theironroad

    theironroad Established Member

    Messages:
    2,342
    Joined:
    21 Nov 2014
    Location:
    London
    Though having 'Bournemouth Hurn Airport' in RTT is new I think, and while a rail line to the Bournemouth airport would be very, very useful I can't see it coming anytime soon.... :)
     
  21. _toommm_

    _toommm_ Established Member

    Messages:
    2,521
    Joined:
    8 Jul 2017
    Location:
    Glossop
    I notice the drop down menu of locations in enabled again, so if I type 'St' for example, it shows all the locations with 'St' in again.
     
  22. PHILIPE

    PHILIPE Established Member

    Messages:
    10,425
    Joined:
    14 Nov 2011
    Location:
    Caerphilly
    It is changing again today at Llanelli on the passage of the train. Looking back at yesterday everything had reverted back to Platform numbers and RTT for days in advance is showing UPL and DPL.
    At Machynlleth there are no pre-planned Platform numbers shown but they appear on the passage of a train
     
  23. 66Yorks

    66Yorks Member

    Messages:
    212
    Joined:
    17 Apr 2015
    Location:
    England
    Nooooooooo! :D

     
  24. louis97

    louis97 Established Member

    Messages:
    1,368
    Joined:
    14 May 2008
    Location:
    Derby
    All sounds normal to me, as explained by Tom.

    A blog post is now available for you all to read about the very much alive project:
    https://blog.realtimetrains.com/2019/09/physically-moving-realtime-trains-part-1
     

Share This Page