RealTimeTrains website

Nagora

Member
Joined
17 Oct 2018
Messages
43
RTT gets a lot of mention here but the last post on its "news" section is January 31st 2017. Is it an abandoned project?
 
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Bletchleyite

Veteran Member
Joined
20 Oct 2014
Messages
71,887
Location
"Marston Vale mafia"
RTT gets a lot of mention here but the last post on its "news" section is January 31st 2017. Is it an abandoned project?

I don't believe so, though I suspect its owner has different priorities so isn't actively developing new features as things stand. It's good as it is, though.
 

EM2

Established Member
Joined
16 Nov 2008
Messages
7,523
Location
The home of the concrete cow
Bearing in mind that the developer was checking timings and berths in Scotland a couple of weeks ago, I think it'll be going strong for a while yet.
 

duffield

Member
Joined
31 Jul 2013
Messages
1,073
Location
East Midlands
I don't believe so, though I suspect its owner has different priorities so isn't actively developing new features as things stand. It's good as it is, though.

The TOC code description was updated when ATW (Arriva Trains Wales) changed to TfW (Transport for Wales) towards the end of last year.
 

berneyarms

Established Member
Joined
26 Nov 2013
Messages
2,561
Location
Dublin
Well, I don't know that it works unless I check the output. It might be spitting out ancient cached results for all I know if the project is dead.

Well given that you admitted in post -#1 that you noticed it is mentioned here frequently, that ought to suggest that it was not spitting out incorrect info.

It is very much alive and well and doing what it says on the tin.
 

robbeech

Established Member
Joined
11 Nov 2015
Messages
3,990
The iOS app no longer functions as it should sadly. But the site is functioning well.
 

DavidGrain

Established Member
Joined
29 Dec 2017
Messages
1,149
RTT has its faults like diverted trains disappearing after the point at which it was diverted so I did not know what time I should meet someone off a train. I have heard of people helping by checking distances and timing so it is working.

However I am very happy with it and, like many others, I use it regularly.
 

TrainTube

Member
Joined
24 Sep 2018
Messages
486
It works doesn’t it?
What more do you want from it?
Updated train info, e.g. max speeds, first class info, unit info etc.
All turbostars are classed as express sprinters, that would be an easy update!
I do like it though and it can be very helpful, I use it a lot to see how on time my train is.
 

PHILIPE

Veteran Member
Joined
14 Nov 2011
Messages
13,472
Location
Caerphilly
Updated train info, e.g. max speeds, first class info, unit info etc.
All turbostars are classed as express sprinters, that would be an easy update!
I do like it though and it can be very helpful, I use it a lot to see how on time my train is.


Remember the unit info is not what works a train but the timings known as the Timing Load that has been selected to use and suitable for what works it
 

PHILIPE

Veteran Member
Joined
14 Nov 2011
Messages
13,472
Location
Caerphilly

TrainTube

Member
Joined
24 Sep 2018
Messages
486
Remember the unit info is not what works a train but the timings known as the Timing Load that has been selected to use and suitable for what works it
But an easy algorithm would be that if these timings are for a certain operator e.g. greater Anglia, then change unit name to 170 turbostar, GA don't even operate 158s so would be easy. Same for southern and the diesel units, as these are the only diesel units they operate.
 

Clarence Yard

Established Member
Joined
18 Dec 2014
Messages
1,517
It’s the timing load used in the NR train planning system that RTT takes its feed from.

You don’t need to operate a certain class of stock to use it’s timing load. It’s about what set of times you use to compile a timetable, not what class of stock you operate.
 

Bletchleyite

Veteran Member
Joined
20 Oct 2014
Messages
71,887
Location
"Marston Vale mafia"
It’s the timing load used in the NR train planning system that RTT takes its feed from.

You don’t need to operate a certain class of stock to use it’s timing load. It’s about what set of times you use to compile a timetable, not what class of stock you operate.

Though because of different timings for different classes for many TOCs it is quite accurate - for instance VTWC.
 

Tom

Member
Joined
19 Jan 2008
Messages
434
Location
35,000ft
If it was abandoned I wouldn't be paying about £2,000 per month to keep it going...

There is a substantial update coming, and a small group of around 30 people have access to it (although it's currently down) which brings a new branding to the site amongst the facility for further improvements. There's also a number of things in the pipeline that don't touch the GB mainline that should hit the public by the end of the year.

Over the last few months, starting in mid-March, I started a long 8 month programme to revamp the infrastructure that runs it. I've thrown in about £15,000 in capital for new servers, firewalls, switching. At the beginning of the year, I had two data centres (half cab in York, 3U in Gatwick for those that care) that are both being moved to cater for increased capacity and future projects. Those new data centres (full cab near London Bridge, and half cab in Manchester) are nearing completion and RTT will be brought live in the London data centre next week. That, amongst other paid work which contributes to the running cost and salaries (yes, it's a full time job), have taken most of my time recently. https://bgp.he.net/AS209082 for an example of the work being done although I imagine only networking people will understand that!

As ever, we read everything via the feedback email address on the website even if we don't reply...

But an easy algorithm would be that if these timings are for a certain operator e.g. greater Anglia, then change unit name to 170 turbostar, GA don't even operate 158s so would be easy. Same for southern and the diesel units, as these are the only diesel units they operate.
Not really true. Looked at doing this before. Setting something up like this initially is easy, then they start changing their fleets. 755s being a primary example. It's hard enough keeping up with signalling system changes.
 

BJames

Member
Joined
27 Jan 2018
Messages
841
Thank you for this comprehensive answer Tom - I for one always find RTT incredibly helpful and one of my main sources of information when needed, and it always functions perfectly for me.
 

Puppetfinger

Member
Joined
18 May 2018
Messages
100
Massive thanks as well Tom for all your hard work. RTT has made a massive difference to my train journeys and saved my bacon a few times. Thank you.
 

berneyarms

Established Member
Joined
26 Nov 2013
Messages
2,561
Location
Dublin
Can I add my thanks too Tom - it’s a superb site and for people like me who love figuring out rolling stock diagrams it’s magnificent!!
 

800002

Member
Joined
19 Jun 2019
Messages
679
RTT has its faults like diverted trains disappearing after the point at which it was diverted so I did not know what time I should meet someone off a train.

I'm not sure that this is a 'RTT Fault'.
When the train goes off its booked route, there is no pre-determined information for RTT (or any of the open data feeds??) to relate to - therefore it just gives the N/R at the intermediate points, once it rejoins the booked route.
I'm not sure that there is a way around this. Happy, of course, for the brilliant minds of the creator to enlighten me though.

There is though the visual graphs on Open Train Times, which if you know where the service deviated, you can track it down.
 

blackfive460

Member
Joined
23 Jun 2010
Messages
705
And another vote of thanks from me too.

Believe it or not, and bear in mind this is coming from a tight fisted Yorkshireman, I'd be happy to pay an annual subscription if you ever went than way, I find it that useful!
 

Peter C

Established Member
Joined
13 Oct 2018
Messages
4,213
Location
GWR land
RTT really isn't "dead" - it works! Please don't assume, Mr. OP, that a website is "dead" because the News section hasn't been updated in a while. It can be difficult for someone to keep updating people on tiny things (or even big changes) on a website as they are either doing the updating or taking a short break.

On a slightly different note:
I too would be happy to pay for RTT in the form of a yearly subscription. I hope that Tom of RTT keeps updating this vital railway enthusiast's tool, even if that means asking someone to pay for it.

Thanks,

-Peter
 

duffield

Member
Joined
31 Jul 2013
Messages
1,073
Location
East Midlands
The AW code is still in use but the train detail itself shows Transport for Wales. There is a thread here currently quite active discussing the Codes:-

https://www.railforums.co.uk/threads/toc-codes-when-operators-change-hands.188866/page-2

Yes, I guess I wasn't clear; I looked at the source code for the website and I could see that the description for the 'AW' code, (not the code itself) had been updated much more recently than the 'news' section, thus proving that the website was still being maintained. Anyhow, we've now got a post from Tom above confirming (as expected) that the site is being actively updated, not just maintained.
 

43096

On Moderation
Joined
23 Nov 2015
Messages
11,123
RTT has its faults like diverted trains disappearing after the point at which it was diverted so I did not know what time I should meet someone off a train. I have heard of people helping by checking distances and timing so it is working.

However I am very happy with it and, like many others, I use it regularly.
None of the apps/sites do that though - it takes the data from NR’s data feed. To use the advanced version some knowledge of what you’re looking at is essential.

For me, RTT is an absolutely essential tool when travelling - a veritable “killer app”.
 

krus_aragon

Established Member
Joined
10 Jun 2009
Messages
5,741
Location
North Wales
But an easy algorithm would be that if these timings are for a certain operator e.g. greater Anglia, then change unit name to 170 turbostar, GA don't even operate 158s so would be easy. Same for southern and the diesel units, as these are the only diesel units they operate.
That only works so far. To take TfW as an example, both their 175s and 58s are listed under express sprinter (158) timings. One can distinguish between them by whether they're listed as 90mph or 100mp max speed. And that isn't guaranteed to be accurate either: 1K62 to Crewe is timed as 100mph, and the return working 1D10 is timed for 90. Which is the "correct" one?

Elsewhere, what do you do with an EMT service that's pathed as a "Class 150/153/155/156 (Sprinter) DMU", given that EMT operate both 153s and 156s? And as for Northern's fabled Random Unit Generator... o_O
 

duffield

Member
Joined
31 Jul 2013
Messages
1,073
Location
East Midlands
None of the apps/sites do that though - it takes the data from NR’s data feed. To use the advanced version some knowledge of what you’re looking at is essential.
...
That's the one thing I'm going to miss most being recently retired - access to TOPS/TRUST off booked route reports! :E
 

PHILIPE

Veteran Member
Joined
14 Nov 2011
Messages
13,472
Location
Caerphilly
That only works so far. To take TfW as an example, both their 175s and 58s are listed under express sprinter (158) timings. One can distinguish between them by whether they're listed as 90mph or 100mp max speed. And that isn't guaranteed to be accurate either: 1K62 to Crewe is timed as 100mph, and the return working 1D10 is timed for 90. Which is the "correct" one?

Elsewhere, what do you do with an EMT service that's pathed as a "Class 150/153/155/156 (Sprinter) DMU", given that EMT operate both 153s and 156s? And as for Northern's fabled Random Unit Generator... o_O

But it is not intended to show what is actually booked to work it. All these classes are 75mph
 

krus_aragon

Established Member
Joined
10 Jun 2009
Messages
5,741
Location
North Wales
But it is not intended to show what is actually booked to work it. All these classes are 75mph
Yes. They're just the timing models used. But for Denyboy's plan:
But an easy algorithm would be that if these timings are for a certain operator e.g. greater Anglia, then change unit name to 170 turbostar, GA don't even operate 158s so would be easy. Same for southern and the diesel units, as these are the only diesel units they operate.
it would be problematic.
 

pdeaves

Established Member
Joined
14 Sep 2014
Messages
4,525
Location
Gateway to the South West
Yes. They're just the timing models used. But for Denyboy's plan:

it would be problematic.
Hard enough to do properly for the 'easy' stuff (all Ryde-Shanklin trains are class 483, for example). Once that info is available people will clamour for the same information everywhere else.
 

Top