• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Refund or Credit?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tedcharlton

I work in the North Sea Offshore Industry and have web purchased a single ticket back to Invergordon, Scotland, a terminal for that industry. Weather dictates my next offshore visit, and I am now on standby. I tried to change my ticket not valid until 18th April to an undisclosed date within the next 2 to 3 weeks. I was informed that my only option was to pay the £10.00 fee "fare" enough (joke). However I need to give a date of travel which I don't know. I was further informed that I could choose a date, then change that and pay another (unfair) £10.00 fee. My current fare was only £41.40 so I suppose I could save myself £20.00 by changing well in advance and bring the date back to my travel date when known.
I ask should credits be offered for future journeys for a one off admin fee?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

calc7

Established Member
Can you let us know what type of ticket is held? Advance Single/Anytime Single/Off-Peak Single etc?

If changing an Advance ticket you will need to provide a revised date and time of travel.

For Off-Peak or Anytime tickets, there is no price advantage of buying ahead (other than the occasional sale such as the recent London Midland one) so your best bet in this instance would be to refund the ticket minus the £10 "fee" (or ask for it to be waived) and then buy the ticket on the day.

Is your question asking whether the £10 admin fee should be refunded as rail credits? Probably not IMO - regular travellers will then buy dirt cheap Advance tickets and trade them up to walk-up tickets as much as they like since they know they'll use the credit anyway.

tedcharlton