Route Coverage

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

A Challenge

Established Member
Joined
24 Sep 2016
Messages
2,241
Its a .pspimage, I don't think I can load them up - but I will try and sort it out and should get it up this weekend
 

A Challenge

Established Member
Joined
24 Sep 2016
Messages
2,241
I have just realised that I didn't use it with lines grayed - just a downloaded version off the web and coloured lines a particular shade of gold (looks nothing like the rest of the colours) as I've done them!
 

Gathursty

Established Member
Joined
31 May 2011
Messages
1,885
Location
Wigan
Is there a blank template for me to fill in?

I've been doing a fair number of lines in my area that I've still not ridden on, namely:
Penistone Line
Barnsley - Wakefield Kirkgate
Wakefield Kirkgate - Huddersfield
Sheffield-Worksop
Worksop-Nottingham
Nottingham-Sheffield
Clitheroe - Hellifield
Media City traingle all directions (Metrolink)
Halton Curve
Chester-Altrincham
Manchester-Styal-Crewe
Chester-Crewe
Chester-Shrewsbury
Crewe-Shrewbury
Crewe-Liverpool South Parkway

My next task is very easy: Newton-Le-Willows to Earlestown Platform 4/5 and back to cover the curve that ATW services take. The hard part is filling in 40 minutes between the trains.
 

Thebaz

Member
Joined
24 Nov 2016
Messages
211
Location
Sud Croixdans
Here's my effort. Not bad considering I haven't even tried! I'm quite pleased with the fact I've managed to make it to the extremes of mainland Britain simply by going about everyday business!
I haven't done my London routes yet, but I've covered a fair deal of it.
 

Attachments

Class172

Established Member
Associate Staff
Quizmaster
Joined
20 Mar 2011
Messages
3,238
Location
West Mids
I can't remember when I last filled in my coverage map (3 years or so based on what's changed), but the light blue shows what has been added since the last edition.
 

Attachments

r37

Member
Joined
23 Jan 2017
Messages
79
Location
Wales
Apologies for bumping the thread slightly but I noticed the link to the template gives a 404 error. After some searching I have found the original which is attached in case anyone still wants it. :)
 

Attachments

Requeststop

Member
Joined
21 Jan 2012
Messages
814
Location
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
On my next visit to the UK, probably in May next year, I have 27 lines or sections of lines to complete my total coverage of passenger rail lines in the UK. They are:
Cardiff Central to Radyr (Via Fairwater)
Pye Corner to Newport
Ebbw Vale Parkway to Ebbw Vale Town
Oxford to Oxford Parkway
Stratford on Avon to Lapworth
Stratford on Avon to Hatton
Tysley to Stratford on Avon
Tulse Hill to East Croydon
Hounslow to Twickenham
Kingston to Twickenham
Motspur Park to Chessington South
New Maldon to Strawberry Hill
New Maldon to Shepperton
Strawberry Hill to Shepperton
Surbiton to Hampton Court
Surbiton to Effingham Junction
Crystal Palace to Beckenham
Selhurst to West Croydon
Sydenham to Crystal Palace
Strawberry Hill to Fulwell
Balham to Epsom Downs via West Croydon
Lewisham to Slade Green via Crayford
Barnhurst to Slade Green
St Johns to Hither Green
Lewisham to Hayes
St Johns to Ladywell
Grove Park to Bromley North
And any new lines open by May next year.
Any ideas of a good timesaving order in which to cover these lines would be welcome.
I'd hate to travel back here to PNG to have just one or two lines left uncovered.
It will have taken me the best part of 64 years to cover the entire available network.
 
Joined
25 Apr 2017
Messages
185
Can i ask you how you showed the lines you have travelled ? Been looking for something like this to record where ive been
Adobe Photoshop Elements! I'm not even using the latest version, mine's from like 2010 but it still works well. I convert the images into black-and-white, then use the "magic wand" tool to select bits of track and colour them in. Takes a bit of getting used to I'd admit, but I like the end result.
 

route101

Established Member
Joined
16 May 2010
Messages
5,910
Adobe Photoshop Elements! I'm not even using the latest version, mine's from like 2010 but it still works well. I convert the images into black-and-white, then use the "magic wand" tool to select bits of track and colour them in. Takes a bit of getting used to I'd admit, but I like the end result.
Ah i see , i dont have adobe photoshop . Would there be a way of doing it in word ?
 
Joined
25 Apr 2017
Messages
185
Ah i see , i dont have adobe photoshop . Would there be a way of doing it in word ?
Don't think Word quite has that precision I'm afraid! A quick Google tells me there's free alternatives out there though - GIMP seems to be one of them, maybe that's something you could try if you wish :>
 
Joined
24 Jul 2011
Messages
204
Location
Wigan
Don't think Word quite has that precision I'm afraid! A quick Google tells me there's free alternatives out there though - GIMP seems to be one of them, maybe that's something you could try if you wish :>
I use GIMP on a Linux machine. It can be a bit more fiddly than Adobe Photoshop, but happy to disclose how I use it for coverage maps, if it's of any help to anyone :)
 

PeterY

Member
Joined
2 Apr 2013
Messages
785
Armed with my senior rail card, purchased this year, my aim as been to try and and do as many new lines as possible before I'm too old to go out on my own.:D:D:D I'm a bit old fashioned and highlight my Baker rail atlas of the routes I've covered.

Since January using mostly rovers/rangers, returns using the 3 mile rule, out one way and back another. Two rail tours. Liverpool Docker and Missing Link.

I've covered most of Kent, missing a few rare curves (Minster and Sittingborne)
East Sussex.
2 West Midlands day rangers.
1 East Anglia day ranger.
1 Spirit of Scotland 4 in 8.
2 Devon day rangers.
1 All line Rover, other than having good fun, I covered a considerable amount of new lines.

For the rest of the year, to look forward to, a 2 week ALR, Freight line tour around Birmingham (Warsaw Concerto), Heart of Wales and in the winter, I'm going to try and knock off some branches locally eg, Sudbury, Harwich, Seaford and Felixstowe
 

route101

Established Member
Joined
16 May 2010
Messages
5,910
Tried using the GIMP programme and imported the pdf of the all the stations map . Stuck on how to do it ? Can anyone help?
 
Joined
25 Apr 2017
Messages
185
Tried using the GIMP programme and imported the pdf of the all the stations map . Stuck on how to do it ? Can anyone help?
Just downloaded GIMP and giving it a go now! Seems like they have the tools I use in Photoshop, so that's great

Use the Fuzzy Select tool (Row 1, Column 4) to select your area. Then use the Bucket Fill tool (Row 5, Column 5) to fill it in. And repeat, basically!

Now the problem might come where the Fuzzy Select tool doesn't do it exactly, so you can fine-tune it with the Free Select tool (Row 1, Column 3). If you click on it, a controller appears at the bottom saying Mode with 4 buttons on it. You can choose from 4 modes, to replace, add, subtract or intersect. I normally use the add and subtract things to add bits that they miss out and subtract things that they add in excess, so as to fine-tune the thing.

Hopefully this works!
 

route101

Established Member
Joined
16 May 2010
Messages
5,910
Just downloaded GIMP and giving it a go now! Seems like they have the tools I use in Photoshop, so that's great

Use the Fuzzy Select tool (Row 1, Column 4) to select your area. Then use the Bucket Fill tool (Row 5, Column 5) to fill it in. And repeat, basically!

Now the problem might come where the Fuzzy Select tool doesn't do it exactly, so you can fine-tune it with the Free Select tool (Row 1, Column 3). If you click on it, a controller appears at the bottom saying Mode with 4 buttons on it. You can choose from 4 modes, to replace, add, subtract or intersect. I normally use the add and subtract things to add bits that they miss out and subtract things that they add in excess, so as to fine-tune the thing.

Hopefully this works!
Thanks , will try later , not really used photoshop before , think im too used to CAD .
I had trouble finding the undo button and erasing .
 

route101

Established Member
Joined
16 May 2010
Messages
5,910
Just downloaded GIMP and giving it a go now! Seems like they have the tools I use in Photoshop, so that's great

Use the Fuzzy Select tool (Row 1, Column 4) to select your area. Then use the Bucket Fill tool (Row 5, Column 5) to fill it in. And repeat, basically!

Now the problem might come where the Fuzzy Select tool doesn't do it exactly, so you can fine-tune it with the Free Select tool (Row 1, Column 3). If you click on it, a controller appears at the bottom saying Mode with 4 buttons on it. You can choose from 4 modes, to replace, add, subtract or intersect. I normally use the add and subtract things to add bits that they miss out and subtract things that they add in excess, so as to fine-tune the thing.

Hopefully this works!
Having a bash now , can only select very small sections to fill in , like between 2 stations. Will take me ages at this rate
 
Joined
25 Apr 2017
Messages
185
Having a bash now , can only select very small sections to fill in , like between 2 stations. Will take me ages at this rate
Took me about 2 hours to complete the very first time I did it - not the shortest but I think it was worth it when I could see the result in the end!
 

route101

Established Member
Joined
16 May 2010
Messages
5,910
Took me about 2 hours to complete the very first time I did it - not the shortest but I think it was worth it when I could see the result in the end!
Slowly but surely , hopefully will get there and the black will show at the end.

Only issue is the eraser does not seem to take away infill . Tried using that freehand tool and a few grey lines were drawn
 
Last edited:

A Challenge

Established Member
Joined
24 Sep 2016
Messages
2,241
If you use the colour picker to pick the colour it was originally from somewhere else and then infill with that will take it back to the original colour.
 

Top