• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Should the railway remove the requirement to need a photocard for weekly and monthly season tickets?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Is it time that the railways get rid of the ridiculous requirement to need a photocard to purchase weekly and monthly season tickets?

It just makes the weekly and monthly tickets so inconvenient as you have to get a photocard first and then you always have to remember to carry it with you when you travel. It would be so much more simple to able to just easily purchase a weekly or monthly ticket just like a Single/Return/Day ticket without having to worry about photocards or anything.

I work as a bus driver for small independent bus operator and we sell a full range of weekly and monthly tickets (issued as ordinary paper tickets from the ticket machine) onboard the bus with no photocard or id required. It is the same as buying a Single/Return/Day ticket

Most Arriva/First/Stagecoach services and many other bus operators all over the UK do exactly the same and sell weekly and monthly tickets onboard without any photocard or id required just like with Single/Return/Day tickets.

So if it is not required for buses then why do train companies insist on people having a photocard to buy weekly and monthly tickets? Is there any reason why train companies have this policy?

What do you all think? Is it time to allow passengers to purchase and use weekly and monthly season tickets without a photocard?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Hadders

Veteran Member
Associate Staff
Senior Fares Advisor
Ideally it would be a good idea but you have to balance the revenue loss of people giving these season tickets to friends and relatives to use.