• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Smallest standard gauge railway company in Britain

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gostav

When I studied British railways history l am always shocked about that there had three hundred railway companies in a small island. However, a fun question: Who is/was the smallest independent railway company with standard gauge network?

I am not sure the Waterloo & City line was an independent railway company (1.47 mi) in history and it is an underground line, not a heavy railway system.

The Seven Bridge Railway Company was a very small independent company only had three stations and one bridge (4,162′) but l didn't found the total mileage of the company's track.

Last edited:
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Taunton

Established Member
The Forth Bridge Railway Company built and operated the bridge. Shareholding was between the three ECML lines plus the Midland, which meant it was not until 1948 that it came under one ownership, and needed to be specifically covered in the nationalisation act. About 2 miles.

mailbyrail

I always thought the Salisbury Railway & Market House Company with a quarter of a mile of track linked to the mainline, eventually closing in 1970.
A couple of references:
https://discovery.nationalarchives.gov.uk/details/r/9db29f59-289d-4740-8da4-1ce0725825c7
https://www.gracesguide.co.uk/Salisbury_Railway_and_Market_House_Co

More details taken from British History On Line