Stoke-Stockport Query

Status
Not open for further replies.

M60lad

Member
Joined
31 May 2011
Messages
525
Despite the number of trains operating through Stoke direct to Stockport is it actually possible to use a Stoke-Stockport ticket via Crewe? According to the routing guide I've got it is but I'd just like clarification if its possible
 
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

bb21

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Global Moderator
Joined
4 Feb 2010
Messages
23,845
Despite the number of trains operating through Stoke direct to Stockport is it actually possible to use a Stoke-Stockport ticket via Crewe? According to the routing guide I've got it is but I'd just like clarification if its possible
Direct trains are always valid on a Route Any Permitted ticket.
 

kieron

Established Member
Joined
22 Mar 2012
Messages
2,520
Location
Connah's Quay
For future reference, if you go to a TOC route planner, it should have a box for "go via this station" (you may need to select advanced options first).

If you put Stoke to Stockport via Crewe into the planner, it will tell you if there are any trains on which the fastest route which meets your criteria is a valid route. If none are, it will either display a higher price and tell you you need to buy two tickets, or refuse to give any results at all.

If it only gives a few times, you may need to be careful about exactly which route your train takes, and possibly take a printout of the itinerary in case of any queries. As it gives two trains per hour on that route, you should have no worries.
 

All Line Rover

Established Member
Joined
17 Feb 2011
Messages
5,026
For future reference, if you go to a TOC route planner, it should have a box for "go via this station" (you may need to select advanced options first).

If you put Stoke to Stockport via Crewe into the planner, it will tell you if there are any trains on which the fastest route which meets your criteria is a valid route. If none are, it will either display a higher price and tell you you need to buy two tickets, or refuse to give any results at all.

If it only gives a few times, you may need to be careful about exactly which route your train takes, and possibly take a printout of the itinerary in case of any queries. As it gives two trains per hour on that route, you should have no worries.
Sorry to correct you but that advice is incorrect. Journey Planners do not determine permitted routes - they all differ in their interpretations and none follow the Routeing Guide 100% correctly. It is the Routeing Guide and only the Routeing Guide that determines permitted routes.

Occasionally Journey Planners will sell a ticket via a route that is not permitted by the Routeing Guide. Whether or not you consider it legally valid to travel via such a route is debatable.
 

yorkie

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Administrator
Joined
6 Jun 2005
Messages
50,365
Location
Yorkshire
...If none are, it will either display a higher price and tell you you need to buy two tickets....
Only the National Rail Enquiries website will do this! It's a good feature, however it doesn't make it completely clear what the two tickets are that it's recommending. (Yes, it clearly states the ticket type, but not the origin/destination!)
 

All Line Rover

Established Member
Joined
17 Feb 2011
Messages
5,026
Only the National Rail Enquiries website will do this! It's a good feature, however it doesn't make it completely clear what the two tickets are that it's recommending. (Yes, it clearly states the ticket type, but not the origin/destination!)
And it often does that on permitted routes!
 

scrapy

Established Member
Joined
15 Dec 2008
Messages
1,342
Just out of interest would it be possible to start short at Crewe (when travelling to Stockport) on a Stoke to Stockport (route Virgin Trains only) ticket, given Virgin don't operate between Stoke and Crewe?
 

calc7

Established Member
Joined
8 Aug 2011
Messages
2,097
Just out of interest would it be possible to start short at Crewe (when travelling to Stockport) on a Stoke to Stockport (route Virgin Trains only) ticket, given Virgin don't operate between Stoke and Crewe?
We've had conlcusions both ways on this forum to isomorphic questions (EC Only EDB-INV ticket as far as ABD, BHM to RUG VT only ticket from NUN to RUG). I would interpret it as yes: you are on a permitted route for the ticket and using that operator's services. Whether or not the operator can take you the whole way down that route shouldn't matter, so long as the customer doesn't mind imo.
 

All Line Rover

Established Member
Joined
17 Feb 2011
Messages
5,026
Just out of interest would it be possible to start short at Crewe (when travelling to Stockport) on a Stoke to Stockport (route Virgin Trains only) ticket, given Virgin don't operate between Stoke and Crewe?
Yes, but I can only assume that you'd want to do a triangular journey as otherwise it would be pointless (seeing as Stoke to Stockport is the same price / more expensive than Crewe to Stockport).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Top