Stupid photters

Discussion in 'Photography Advice & Discussion' started by Jamesb1974, 13 Jul 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jamesb1974

Jamesb1974 Member

Evening.

I am a trainee driver for DB Schenker. I love my job, getting out there and watching the countryside rolling by. I also enjoy the fact that others take pleasure from watching the trains go by.

It has become something of a ritual for me, that if I know I've been photographed I search Flickr to see if the picture has been posted. Sometimes I can see its me, other times not. When the picture is clear enough, my kids love seeing Daddy at work.

But, why do some photographers think that safety and railway trespass laws not apply to them? I am speaking specifically about the bloke (and it was a bloke, not a kid) in the red t-shirt and blue shorts, stood about 10 feet off the end of the platform at Oakengates station this morning.

You were in a group of three men, your two companions having the sense to stay on the platform. You were standing in the cess with your back to oncoming traffic, clearly focused entirely on the train I was driving.

The single car 153 unit had just passed through the station in the direction you were facing, so clearly you thought it was ok to trespass. What if another, unplanned service was heading your way? You had your back to traffic and were totally engrossed in my train.

Hence, I gave you a long blast on the horn and the arm movements that I hope you saw, indicated for you to get back on the platform.

Why risk your life for a photograph? You're getting your fellow hobbyists a bad name and more importantly, you clearly think the rules don't apply to you.

2. Registered users do not see these banners - join or log in today!

Rail Forums

3. 455driver

455driver Veteran Member

If you think that is bad wait till there is a steamer due through, the kettle veg will be all over the formation, up signal posts etc coz that is the way it used to be!