• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

SWTrains Penalty Fare, No Income

Status
Not open for further replies.

Arkazle

Hi everyone,

Earlier this year I was caught for fare evasion. Luckily SWTrains have sent me a letter asking for £82.50 and have added that if my income is under £110 a week I can send 'proof' and someone will contact me discussing my options. I am currently at college, unemployed and live with my parents, I don't really have the money for the fine (I'm not complaining about the outcome) but as the option was given, paying less would be beneficial. Does anyone know what type of proof the train company would require such as a bank statement or proof that I am a student?

Thanks a lot everyone, months of anxiety and I feel like a real weight has been lifted off my chest and I thank railforums for helping.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

455driver

Veteran Member
There isn't the option to pay less!
What they are offering is for you to pay it in a few instalments.

If you don't have any income how would you pay for the train tickets that you should have bought?

yorkie

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Administrator
Can you clarify...

Have SWT agreed to an out of court settlement of £82.50? If so you are very lucky and I'd advise paying this as soon as possible (can your parents help out?) but is a matter between you and SWT. If you fail to pay it, things could get rather more serious.

Or has it gone to court, you've been found (or pleased) guilty of a criminal offence, and a court imposed a fine? If so, paying the fine is nothing to do with SWT.

It sounds like the former, rather than the latter?

Islineclear3_1

Established Member
PTSO or platform depending on the weather