TPE 1B52 - 2327 Manchester Airport to Sheffield

Discussion in 'Allocations, Diagrams & Timetables' started by kevconnor, 15 Apr 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kevconnor

kevconnor Member

Looking at RTT tonight I have noticed the following TPE service

http://www.realtimetrains.co.uk/train/Y62567/2015/04/15/advanced

I have to admit I have never heard of a TPE service being routed in this manner before, given the possible lack of route knowledge between HUD - SHF for TPE drivers and as it is pathed as a class 158 would I be right in thinking this is likely to be operated by Northern? I use to get this service when I was a student in sheffield and It used then a class 185 and went via the hope valley line so is this one an anomaly?

Last edited: 15 Apr 2015
  2. 185143

185143 Established Member

Definitely a TPE service and you are right, this is an anomaly (I believe the return working comes back the sane way? Not sure on that though!)

Would be quite a nice tour if it wasn't for the darkness issue!

3. leedslad82

leedslad82 Member

They do this route frequently for route knowledge so they have a diversionary route if hope valley is shut

4. yorkie

yorkie Administrator Staff Member Administrator

5. High Dyke

High Dyke Established Member

TPE alright - 170303 for the interested.

6. Crossover

Crossover Established Member

Happens every night as far as I know. As said, it's a route knowledge retention service primarily

7. PHILIPE

PHILIPE Established Member

Pathing as a 158 has little to do with what is actually diagrammed. It is how it is timed and any class which meets the criteria of 158 timings can be diagrammed to work it. This has been explained on the Forum many times.

8. 55z

55z Member