Train Driver Rosters

Discussion in 'Railway Jobs & Careers' started by George123, 20 Nov 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. George123

George123 Member

Hello,

I'm thinking about becoming a train driver for a company like TPE or Northern Rail and I was wonder whether any of you drivers had any information of what your rosters are like and if you had any examples. Freight, charter and passenger rosters welcome, commuter and intercity.

Cheers
    George123

2. Registered users do not see these banners - join or log in today!

Rail Forums

3. driver9000

driver9000 Established Member

Rostering varies company to company depending on their T&Cs. The rosters are known as links.

I am a suburban/rural multiple unit driver working 4 days, 35 hours (average). Turns vary between 6-10 hours most are around 9 hours. Certain weeks I work 6 days others 4. 12 hours rest minimum between turns is required. My rest days are on a 3 week repeating cycle ie:

Week 1 - Mon/Tues
    Week 2 - Wed/Thu
    Week 3 - Fri/Sat

Sundays are outside my working week. Many depots have multiple sets of links containing different work. Some TOCs still work on progressive links based on seniority so the more service you have the higher link position you take. In BR days this meant working your way through shunting, goods, local work before taking your place working express trains in the 'top' link. My TOC no longer has progressive linking despite having multiple links at my depot, any move is done by application.

Given the shift working nature of the job some weeks are early turn while some are late turn.

4. George123

George123 Member

Thanks,