• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

UK to Australian train Drivers

Status
Not open for further replies.

diggitydg

Hiya,

I'm a fully licensed english driver, but i'm interested in moving to Australia to drive the iron ore trains in the West. I've spoken to an Underground driver who said they poached loads off the district line around 10 years ago or so, that would mean they take non freight drivers without loco experience (me) but finding a listing is next to impossible, i decided to apply for a controller position, but my application was stopped after i stated i didn't currently have the right to work in australia. Are there any ex UK drivers that have made the move? Be a big help to hear more about the process especially making contact with companies (i've only looked at BHP billiton and dealing with Visas. (I feel like after obtaining a job offer it would fairly easy as a commenwealth citizen to get permission to work) Thanks in advance for any help and drive safe!

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

russmcp

Hiya,