Video camera recommendations

Discussion in 'Photography Advice & Discussion' started by HA25322, 27 May 2017.

1. HA25322

HA25322 Member

I asked this on another forum but with not much success. So I ask again here and hope someone can help me please?

I was at an event recently and saw quite a few people standing in fields and on platforms with devices which appeared to record pictures and then putting these onto the internet thing. Being totally illiterate on these kind of contraptions of recording of moving pictures I was wondering if anyone could point me in the correct direction to look at and then maybe purchase one in the future?
    I am then interesting in being able to put these clips together to then have a the few seconds of clips, or minutes all added together to make up longer clips.
    Any help for a complete novice would be gratefully received.

Regards

2. Registered users do not see these banners - join or log in today!

Rail Forums

3. ABB125

ABB125 Member

I use a Panasonic HC V380, which is an excellent, good value video camera. However, there are other, cheaper (and more expensive) options available, both from Panasonic and other manufacturers.
    I then use Serif Movieplus for editing, but if you are a complete novice, then this software may seem a bit confusing. A free, simpler alternative is Windows Movie Maker, which should come pre-installed on any Windows computer.

4. HA25322

HA25322 Member

Thank you for taking the time for replying. One thing I forgot to mention is that I have a MAC so Windows Movie Maker is a no go. I will have a look at Serif Movieplus and see if that is compatible with a MAC. I will also have a look at V380. I have heard good things about Panasonic so that maybe the way forward????

Regards Keith

5. ABB125

ABB125 Member

I don't think that Serif is compatible with MAC, but Apple probably have an pre-installed Movie Maker equivalent. I think that i-movie might have some editing functions.

6. HA25322