• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Video camera recommendations

Status
Not open for further replies.

HA25322

I asked this on another forum but with not much success. So I ask again here and hope someone can help me please?

I was at an event recently and saw quite a few people standing in fields and on platforms with devices which appeared to record pictures and then putting these onto the internet thing. Being totally illiterate on these kind of contraptions of recording of moving pictures I was wondering if anyone could point me in the correct direction to look at and then maybe purchase one in the future?
I am then interesting in being able to put these clips together to then have a the few seconds of clips, or minutes all added together to make up longer clips.
Any help for a complete novice would be gratefully received.

Regards

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

ABB125

Established Member
I use a Panasonic HC V380, which is an excellent, good value video camera. However, there are other, cheaper (and more expensive) options available, both from Panasonic and other manufacturers.
I then use Serif Movieplus for editing, but if you are a complete novice, then this software may seem a bit confusing. A free, simpler alternative is Windows Movie Maker, which should come pre-installed on any Windows computer.

HA25322

Thank you for taking the time for replying. One thing I forgot to mention is that I have a MAC so Windows Movie Maker is a no go. I will have a look at Serif Movieplus and see if that is compatible with a MAC. I will also have a look at V380. I have heard good things about Panasonic so that maybe the way forward????

Regards Keith

ABB125

Established Member