Wrexham general generator

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

lincolnshire

Member
Joined
12 Jun 2011
Messages
803
Think you will find that the station electric supply will not have a big enough capacity load wise to run the lifts as well as the rest of the station requirements and will be awaiting the supply authority to upgrade the supply to the station. So its a case of generator for lifts to work now or lifts out of use till supply upgraded.

We often used to hire generators to power up points heaters in winter after the copper thieves had nicked the supply cables in summer , only way to save on train delays by the points not working.
 

merlodlliw

Established Member
Joined
8 Mar 2009
Messages
5,852
Location
Wrexham/ Denbighshire /Flintshire triangle


You'll never believe this...
The new lifts recently installed have not got the correct voltage supply hence the need for the generators.
I was told this in a non public PM today , so its awaiting Scottish Power for a new three phase supply etc ,perhaps and I am no expert in civil engineering this should have been installed after various site meetings during the build, unless the current supply was considered sufficient.
NR would have been very embarrassed to await months of non use of lifts & public money without the generator running 24/7.

Bob
 

Joseph_Locke

Established Member
Joined
14 Apr 2012
Messages
1,868
Location
Within earshot of trains passing the one and half
I was told this in a non public PM today , so its awaiting Scottish Power for a new three phase supply etc ,perhaps and I am no expert in civil engineering this should have been installed after various site meetings during the build, unless the current supply was considered sufficient.
NR would have been very embarrassed to await months of non use of lifts & public money without the generator running 24/7.

Bob
It's quite possibly nothing that NR can do anything about. The Utilities firms act like the world is created for their private amusement, sometimes.
 

brianthegiant

Member
Joined
12 May 2010
Messages
588
ah, the new connections team at Scottish Power Power Systems formerly Manweb.....

Yes dealing with them & you'd think you were in the Soviet Union....
words like 'urgent' or 'efficient' or 'deadline' just aren't in their dictionary.

You get your new/upgraded connection when they feel like it, and that's the way it is.

Wrong voltage sounds like miscommunication, more likely just that the current rating of existing supply isn't enough.
 

Nym

Established Member
Joined
2 Mar 2007
Messages
8,397
Location
Somewhere, not in London
Wrong voltage sounds like miscommunication, more likely just that the current rating of existing supply isn't enough.
I'm betting someone doesn't know the difference between a single phase 230V LN connection and a 415V 3 phase LL connection and simply thinks that this means 'wrong voltage' (It is if you ignore the number of phases issue).

From what I've read of it; it is either, as you said, not enough current for the lifts, or what I think to be more likely the lack of a 3 phase connection to Wrexham General to supply the lift.

Does kind of remind me of this...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DSJDvrtJDEo&t=1m0s

[YOUTUBE]DSJDvrtJDEo[/YOUTUBE]
Those watching embedded, fast forward to 1minute in...

Not managed to experience the new connections lines yet, but I have had to argue with BT for a connection many a time, at one point saying. "So this line that comes into my house isn't connected to anything at your end, so if I put a plug on the end of it, and put 230V across your phone line, nothing will happen then will it?"
At this point they waived that £135+VAT connection charge to simply press some buttons on their keyboard.
 
Last edited:

The Informer

Member
Joined
2 May 2011
Messages
344
Location
Roy's Rolls Cafe
I'm betting someone doesn't know the difference between a single phase 230V LN connection and a 415V 3 phase LL connection and simply thinks that this means 'wrong voltage' (It is if you ignore the number of phases issue).

From what I've read of it; it is either, as you said, not enough current for the lifts, or what I think to be more likely the lack of a 3 phase connection to Wrexham General to supply the lift.

Does kind of remind me of this...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DSJDvrtJDEo&t=1m0s

[YOUTUBE]DSJDvrtJDEo[/YOUTUBE]
Those watching embedded, fast forward to 1minute in...

Not managed to experience the new connections lines yet, but I have had to argue with BT for a connection many a time, at one point saying. "So this line that comes into my house isn't connected to anything at your end, so if I put a plug on the end of it, and put 230V across your phone line, nothing will happen then will it?"
At this point they waived that £135+VAT connection charge to simply press some buttons on their keyboard.

Awesome! Haha...

 

Joseph_Locke

Established Member
Joined
14 Apr 2012
Messages
1,868
Location
Within earshot of trains passing the one and half
A real story.


Designer to Alleged Owner Of Mysterious Cable In Bridge Deck: "Look, it isn't UU, British Gas, Mercury, Virgin, National Grid, BT, Plusnet, Sky, Global Crossing, the City Council or anybody elses', so it must be yours"

AOOMCIBD: "Nope, can't be ours, we don't have one. Anyway, ours goes the other way out of the site"

Designer: (after pausing to consider the statement) "Can we have the absence in writing then?"

AOOMCIBD: "Nope, 'cos writing that down would be admitting that we had such a cable"

Designer: "But you do"

AOOMCIBD: "No comment, but it isn't there anyway"

Designer: "Well, if it isn't there and you wouldn't admit to it, why don't you send some lads down to not disconnect it"

AOOMCIBD: "Can't do that, service outage KPIs and all that, blah, mission critical, drone, no-where else to put it, blah, ..."

Designer: "But you say it isn't there"

AOOMCIBD: "That's not the point"

Designer: <banging head on desk> "Well then, we'll get the contractor to sling it on a catenary out of the way during the work"

AOOMCIBD: "You can't do that, that'd be interfering with our asset"

Designer: "But it isn't there"

AOOMCIBD: "As I said, that's not the point"

Designer: <distant suicidal gunshot>

(the name of the organisation and location has been anonymised to protect the guilty)
 

Yew

Established Member
Joined
12 Mar 2011
Messages
4,286
Location
Nottingham
Those watching embedded, fast forward to 1minute in...

Not managed to experience the new connections lines yet, but I have had to argue with BT for a connection many a time, at one point saying. "So this line that comes into my house isn't connected to anything at your end, so if I put a plug on the end of it, and put 230V across your phone line, nothing will happen then will it?"
At this point they waived that £135+VAT connection charge to simply press some buttons on their keyboard.
I will remember that one :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Top