• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Dublin to Carrickfergus

Status
Not open for further replies.

Starmill

Veteran Member
Hello everyone!

I am arriving at Dublin Airport in a couple of weeks on a weekday morning in a small group, and staying in Carrickfergus (the convenient Premier Inn) that night. I would like to try the Enterprise service, which I have never done before. We will probably have at least a few hours free to wander around the city before heading to Northern Ireland.

I was wondering if anyone can clarify or offer advice for buying tickets please. irishrail.ie offers some flexible fares for €19.99 (standard) to Belfast Lanyon Place, are these available to buy walk-up, or quota controlled? I have not been able to find any way of booking Dublin to Carrickfergus, does this exist please? I note that the journey in the other direction can be booked at translink.co.uk. I can see there is a semi-flexible fare that is just one euro cheaper, and a fixed one just one euro cheaper than that - these do not seem much worth bothering with for such a small saving! I am not too fussed about having reserved seating, but if we do get the 1650 departure from Dublin Conolly would there be a risk of finding it full? How is the onboard catering on the route? I have heard stories that it can be a bit poorly stocked, would you get food before boarding?

Thanks a lot everyone :)

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

The ticket you found online can only be purchased online in advance. It is not a walk on fare. Irish Rail do sell many cheaper tickets online (many of which are fully flexible and allow you to travel on any train service on the day). But unfortunately you can not purchase it at the station on the day