• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Oakwood Press quality diminishing

julianblack

Hi.

Is it just me or has the quality of the Oakwood Press titles deteriorated since being taken over by Stenlake Publishing?

I have recently bought their title on the Gloucester to Ledbury branch. And I must say that it it leaves me feeling somewhat underwhelmed.

I have been buying books from the Oakwood Press for over 40 years and this is my 219th book from them. Though some of their titles have been a little pricey, I always thought that they were good value for money. This is the first Oakwood Press title that I have purchased since 2021. The previous title cost £15.95 for 112 pages whereas with the new title there is only 80 pages for a cost of £14.95. In addition, it looks like the font size for the latter title if 20% larger, thus reducing the amount of text. Finally, the quality of the prose is quite not up to the high standard that I come to enjoy from Oakwood Press titles of old.

This book was purchased unseen based upon my previous experiences of the publisher. I will not buy another of their titles unseen, and unless they revert to form, I have a horrible feeling that this might be my last title from the Oakwood Press.

Opinions please...

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

John Luxton

Established Member
Hi.

Is it just me or has the quality of the Oakwood Press titles deteriorated since being taken over by Stenlake Publishing?

I have recently bought their title on the Gloucester to Ledbury branch. And I must say that it it leaves me feeling somewhat underwhelmed.