• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Photography at railway stations

Karenallan

Hello I am new here. I am looking for advice I am a photography student at a local University in England. I would like to take images at railway stations and to be able to use them for possibly to enter into a student photography competition and also to use images for end of degree exhibition. Would this be classed as commercial usage or personal usage.

Any help most appreciated

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

thecrofter

Hello I am new here. I am looking for advice I am a photography student at a local University in England. I would like to take images at railway stations and to be able to use them for possibly to enter into a student photography competition and also to use images for end of degree exhibition. Would this be classed as commercial usage or personal usage.

Any help most appreciated
An interesting question that I expect many people may not appreciate the significance of. The guidelines for Railway Enthusiasts posted by 8A Rail above are of course those for Network Rail's own 20 managed stations. It does mention that all its other stations are leased to the various Train Operating Companies that may well have their own guidelines and views (thinking of Blackpool North here) on station photography. I agree with Doug that your case would seem to fall into the category of personal use as no financial gain is envisaged.