• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Apple trees

Status
Not open for further replies.

Masboroughlad

Established Member
Anyone know about growing fruit trees?

I have an apple tree growing in a large pot. It is a golden delicious.

Now the tree itself looks very healthy and was covered in flowers which became apples. The problem is that they grow to the size of a marble but no bigger.

Is it a dodgy tree or is there something that I should be doing to make them grow to apple size?!

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Ash Bridge

Established Member
I can't say I'm a gardening expert, but it would possibly benefit from being taken out of the pot and planted in open ground to allow the roots to fully develop, how long has it been in the pot with the same soil and have you treated it with any type of feed?

Last edited:

northwichcat

Veteran Member
I can't say I'm a gardening expert, but it would possibly benefit from being taken out of the pot and planted in open ground to allow the roots to fully develop, how long has it been in the pot with the same soil and have you treated it with any type of feed?

I'd agree. An apple tree which produces normal sized apples would normally be at least 7ft tall and if it that's tall and in a pot I imagine it'll be potbound (restricting growth) if it's in a pot and that size.

Last edited by a moderator:

Cowley

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Global Moderator
Hi Masboroughlad. If you can go on BBC iplayer and type in - The A to Z of TV gardening, program 1 you'll find an excellent piece on there about growing apple trees. I just looked it up and the programme is only on there until tomorrow morning so catch it quickly.