• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Bus Driver Is Fined £70 For Driving A BUS In A Bus Lane

Status
Not open for further replies.

duncanp

Established Member
No, this isn't an April Fool's joke.

A driver got fined £70 for driving in a bus lane.

Nothing wrong with that, you might think, except that the driver was driving, er, a bus at the time.

Some councils seem to treat automatic cameras leading to fines as a licence to print money.

ALL ABOARD

I’m a bus driver – the council fined me £70 for a hilarious reason and I’m having the letter framed​

A BUS driver has been slapped with a fine for a hilarious reason prompting the bus company to frame the latter.

Bus company Connexions, which operates in West and North Yorkshire, received the penalty charge after one of their buses entered a bus lane in Leeds.

Leeds City Council asked the company to pay a £70 fine in 28 days, reduced if paid within 14 days.

Speaking to the BBC, the owner of the company Connexions bus, Craig Temple said: "I've heard of other companies in the country where it's happened, but it's never happened with us."

"It's a bus that we've not long bought so it's not in our colours yet, but it's still registered as a bus."

Craig sarcastically said the council deserved 'top marks' for the observation and added the fine system doesn't work.

The fine included a picture of the bus picking up passengers at a bus stop.

It said that the vehicle was fined because it was driving in a bus lane during restricted hours, despite it being a bus.

"I'm going to frame the letter and put it in the office," Mr Temple joked.

Leeds city council has apologised for the error and has cancelled the fine.

A spokesperson for Leeds City Council told the BBC: "The ticket was issued in error and has now been cancelled.