Class 321s and Neutral Section

Discussion in 'Traction & Rolling Stock' started by ajax103, 27 Oct 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ajax103

ajax103 Established Member

I've never really noticed this before but while travelling on a pair of 321s earlier, every time the train went though the neutral section all the interior lights would go out and onto emergency lighting then the interior lights would all go back on.

I've never seen this before, is this usual of the 321s then or was it likely just a dodgy Class 321 I was on?

2. Registered users do not see these banners - join or log in today!

Rail Forums

3. T163R

T163R Member

Well it's supposed to do that every time, on all EMUs normally I think...

EDIT: Well apparently I'm wrong... :)

Last edited: 28 Oct 2011
  4. Edvid

Edvid Member

I've never seen it happen (or it's been too rare for me to recall), and I've been travelling at least occasionally on the railway for well over 10 years now.

5. philjo

philjo Established Member

The 321s I usually travel on don't normally do that - all of the lights stay on over the neutral sections.

I think that unit has some kind of fault. It is probably the same 321 unit I was on a couple of weeks ago. The lights went off at every neutral section - e.g. hitchin, South of Stevenage & WGC.
    I assume the battery that provides power to the lighting while the train is in the neutral section is not charging properly.

There was a 313 that did that once south of Stevenage & all the lights stayed off (including no emergency lighting) all the way through Welwyn tunnels - pitch black in there!

6. ralphchadkirk

ralphchadkirk Established Member

Sounds like the batteries aren't properly charging.

7. ileikcaek

ileikcaek Member

The batteries may need replacing, I don't think they last forever... could be wrong.

Haven't they heard of Duracell Supreme yet? :lol: j/k

8. Flywaver

Flywaver Member