• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Dan's somewhat random trips out

Status
Not open for further replies.

tramdan

Ok so I'm new to this trip reporting business but after being featured in one of TC60054's recent postings in this place, I thought I'd better start writing something here. This is yesterday's trip around the West Midlands. It ended up just a bit longer than I expected!

07/03/17

The general idea for today's came out of an invitation from a mate to meet up in Birmingham for a little bash around the area. I had originally planned to catch the 0713 service towards Sheffield from my home station of Worksop but decided late the night before to drop back to the 0813 instead.

I arrived at the booking office in good time and took care to carefully explain exactly what ticketing arrangement I was working with. From Worksop I typically split my fare at Derby to Birmingham so Anytime Day Returns from WRK to DBY and DBY to Birmingham Stations were duly purchased, alongside my usual West Midlands Day Ranger. Total damage was £43.15. The 0813 turned up to depart bang on time in the form of thoroughly dud 142 095. Not a particularly bad unit for a 142, but much better things were to follow. Whilst on this journey I tried something I hadn't before, CrossCountry's 10 minute reservation system. I had always been sceptical of this system and its necessity however I managed to work out how to reserve myself a seat for the next move on winner 220 025 from Sheffield to Birmingham New Street.