• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Dealing with Assessments

Status
Not open for further replies.

Economist

I'm currently a Trainee Driver part-way through the Practical Handling phase of training. All of the feedback I've received so far has been positive and the DIs I've had thus far have been confident in my ability. However, I do worry a lot about the Initial Assessment (pretty much every day) even though it's a few months away. I knlw the pass rate tends to be high but I understand it can be very easy to fail.

May I ask others on here if it is normal to worry about it and how they handled nerves etc. during the test?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

SPADTrap

Established Member
It is normal to worry about but by the time it comes you'll feel competent and hopefully sail through. I just buried the nerves. Interestingly having recently moved TOCs I was more nervous about 'passing out' at my new TOC than I was when I was a trainee driver!

choochoochoo

Established Member
Sounds easy, but be confident in your own ability without being cocky !!

I find assessors feed off of nerves. And whilst its understandable to be nervous, you've got this far so you must be able to do it.

Just do exactly what you do when you're with your DI

Economist

Thank you for the insights on this, it has been helpful to me.

choochoochoo, when you say that "assessors feed off nerves", would I be correct in thinking that they tend to make life more challenging for those who they perceive to be nervous?

How much does previous history come into play (Rules and Traction assessments etc.)? I've heard it mentioned that those who pass those first time statistically have a better chance of passing their Initial Assessment too.