• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Future automatic train discussion

Status
Not open for further replies.

Italiandriver

Hello everyone, I am an Italian train driver who works on regional transport. I have read from articles that Thameslink has implemented the ATO system with ETCS L2. In Italy we have the M1 and M3 meters of Milan that work in ATO: the driver closes the doors and presses start button. But how does driving on a mainline train in ATO work? Can the driver manually drive or be obliged to proceed with the active ATO? Does the throttle/brake lever have to be 0? Can the value of acceleration be decided?

On the M1 and M3 meters of Milan, with automatic driving, the driver, if he moves the controls, deactivates the ATO which can only be activated when the train is stationary. it is strictly forbidden to drive manually, it can only be degraded.

I do not really like that on a mainline train you can not do work on the controls.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

D365

Veteran Member
No idea whether the controls are fully locked out or not, but obviously the emergency brake is always available.

I believe the basic principle of ATO in the UK (whether it be London Underground or mainline), is that the driver closes the doors and gives the order to start. The computers then take the train to the next station.

Italiandriver

No idea whether the controls are fully locked out or not, but obviously the emergency brake is always available.

I believe the basic principle of ATO in the UK (whether it be London Underground or mainline), is that the driver closes the doors and gives the order to start. The computers then take the train to the next station.