• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

MSc Student Project- Strike action "Have Your Say"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Railwaystudent

Hi, I am a student at the University College London studying an MSc in Project & Enterprise Management sponsored by Network Rail. In October on completion of the course, I will be assigned a role within the company as a project management assistant.

I am in the process of writing my dissertation on “Change Management within Network Rail” which is evidently a pressing issue at the moment. In particular, the recent proposed strike action is an ideal opportunity to write my dissertation about how Network Rail managed the implementation of new working practices and why the change in working practices, resulted in significant resistance.

I am new to the industry after just leaving University in Manchester and am struggling with the abbreviations and the media seem to be missing what actual change in working practices was? I was wondering if any maintenance or signalers or union staff or NR staff that actually implemented the change that could help explain to me what the actual change was e.g. before and after?

In addition, if anyone has been affected by the change in working practices and wouldn’t mind been interviewed either through email or face to face in the coming months, could you please drop me a email or reply back? Being new to the industry any help or information is vital for me to get the true reasons behind the dispute and how it could have been managed better. Of course, the interviews can be anonymous

Thank you all in advance.

John Johnson
[email protected]

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

9K43