• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Network Rail to DB Cargo or FrieghtLiner?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Unknockable

Hi, I've been looking through these forums for a couple months now so I've decided to make an account to get some help.

I've been working for Network Rail for the last 5 years doing Permanent track maintenance and Signals. Thinking of applying to become a Freight Train Driver as I think its probably one of the best roles I can get into with my railway experience...or a Signaller (The role of a signaller doesn't appeal to me at the moment)

I see Freight liner and DB cargo have vacancies for trainee drivers, but the only thing that's making me have doubts is the stories about these companies losing contracts and also has previously made people redundant (DB Cargo).

Should I leave my secure position in network rail to work for any of these FOC's?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Stigy

Established Member
DB Cargo vacancies have closed now. I got all the way to the DMI with Freightliner and their recruitment process is definitely refreshing. I was advised that they have taken on a lot of new contacts and as such, think it’s relatively secure. I think FOCs tend to lose a lot of drivers to TOCs, hence the vacancies?

Seejwalker

Hi, I've been looking through these forums for a couple months now so I've decided to make an account to get some help.

I've been working for Network Rail for the last 5 years doing Permanent track maintenance and Signals. Thinking of applying to become a Freight Train Driver as I think its probably one of the best roles I can get into with my railway experience...or a Signaller (The role of a signaller doesn't appeal to me at the moment)