New Oyster OSIs

Status
Not open for further replies.

barrykas

Established Member
Joined
19 Sep 2006
Messages
1,579
Hi folks,

Just been perusing The Manual and noticed a few changes to the OSI list, so here goes:
  • Bank (LU) to Cannon Street (NR) : 40 minutes
  • [Cannon Street (NR) to Bank (LU) : 20 minutes
  • Dalston Junction to Dalston Kingsland (and vv) : 20 minutes
  • East Putney (LU) to Putney (NR) : 30 minutes
  • Finsbury Park (LU) to Finsbury Park (NR) (and vv) : 10 minutes
  • Putney (NR) to East Putney (LU) : 30 minutes
  • Shadwell (NR) to Shadwell (DLR) (and vv) : 15 minutes

HTH,

Barry
 
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

north

Member
Joined
23 Dec 2009
Messages
104
Hi folks,

[*]Finsbury Park (LU) to Finsbury Park (NR) (and vv) : 10 minutes

Does this mean that you now must touch in/out when transferring between tube and NR at Finsbury Park? Or is this that OSI just to fix the issue where people were penalized by touching in/out?
 

yorkie

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Administrator
Joined
6 Jun 2005
Messages
53,344
Location
Yorkshire
Or is this that OSI just to fix the issue where people were penalized by touching in/out?
We can't get FCC to even admit there was an issue.:roll: They tried to prosecute someone, then gave up on that but still refuse to apologise or accept any wrongdoing. Overall they're a spineless company who show contempt for their customers (although they have some good staff I know! But some staff who work for them say they're a lousy employer. But opinions vary). Staff who dish abuse to customers and treat them badly are not properly dealt with and are still allowed to continue to prowl the network causing further problems. :|
 

MikeWh

Established Member
Associate Staff
Senior Fares Advisor
Joined
15 Jun 2010
Messages
6,453
Location
Crayford
Does this mean that you now must touch in/out when transferring between tube and NR at Finsbury Park? Or is this that OSI just to fix the issue where people were penalized by touching in/out?
Not necessarily. When interchanging from NR you may need to touch out if the gates are operational. If you do then you need to touch back in again on the LU validators as you'd expect. If you don't need to touch out because the gates are open then you don't need to touch in again either; the journey will still be calculated correctly.

In the other direction the same applies in that both touch out and in again, and no touches, will calculate the journey properly. Additionally, if you haven't touched out on LU but need to touch in at the NR gates then this will work because there is a special setting to open the gates if the last action was a valid touch in within maximum journey time.
 
Last edited:

barrykas

Established Member
Joined
19 Sep 2006
Messages
1,579
Does this mean that you now must touch in/out when transferring between tube and NR at Finsbury Park? Or is this that OSI just to fix the issue where people were penalized by touching in/out?
I'd assume it's because Platforms 1/2 and 5/6 at Finsbury Park (NR) are now gated. Whether an LU RPI (in the unlikely event of encountering one) would PF you if you didn't touch in again when transferring from NR to LU there remains to be seen, however.

Cheers,

Barry
 

jon0844

Veteran Member
Joined
1 Feb 2009
Messages
24,762
Location
UK
What if you don't touch out, then find you have to touch in at the new gates at FPK? Do you get an error or seek assistance, or does it just let you continue?
 

MikeWh

Established Member
Associate Staff
Senior Fares Advisor
Joined
15 Jun 2010
Messages
6,453
Location
Crayford
What if you don't touch out, then find you have to touch in at the new gates at FPK? Do you get an error or seek assistance, or does it just let you continue?
A couple of posts above ...
Additionally, if you haven't touched out on LU but need to touch in at the NR gates then this will work because there is a special setting to open the gates if the last action was a valid touch in within maximum journey time.
 

MikeWh

Established Member
Associate Staff
Senior Fares Advisor
Joined
15 Jun 2010
Messages
6,453
Location
Crayford
Why is Cannon Street to Bank allocated twice as long as the opposite?

It's not, it's the other way round. All LU to NR terminal OSIs are longer that their associated NR to LU pair because at a terminus you generally wait on a concourse until your train is advertised.
 

W-on-Sea

Member
Joined
18 Dec 2009
Messages
1,138
Surely Shadwell has always been an OSI?

Indeed, I think. See this list from Sept 2010
http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&so...3D_LHReZ9FaolOuGg&sig2=pSPk8gW0tFk5W56eLj8L-g

This http://londonreconnections.blogspot.com/2010/11/updated-osi-list.html suggests that Shadwell and some others were accidentally (?) omitted from a previously published list, despite being in place in practise.

(I've certainly used the Shadwell interchange with PAYG before and been charged as though it were an OSI)
 

MikeWh

Established Member
Associate Staff
Senior Fares Advisor
Joined
15 Jun 2010
Messages
6,453
Location
Crayford
Surely Shadwell has always been an OSI?

Yes, it has. ATOC have managed to introduce some errors when transfering the list from the TfL document to their own. One of those errors was missing out the Shadwell and Dalston OSIs but there are others, mostly timing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Top