• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Rail Industry Awards Ceremonies

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheSeeker

Following rail industry people on twitter is very interesting, drivers, engineers, station staff. You get to see things that the public wouldn't normally have access to.

One thing I notice is that there seem to be a lot of award ceremonies in the rail industry. Both for front line staff and equipment suppliers.

I work in telecommunications and there it is quite different. Companies and staff are usually glad to get to the end of contracts alive and there isn't much pride in showing off what went on (at least in my experience). Mind you it could be that I'm just a lowly engineer in the trenches.

Any thoughts? Do you have similar events in the domain you work in?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

I've been to a couple of rail industry awards. My observations:
  • Sometimes the deserving teams/companies win; often it just seems to go to whomever the judges have previously worked for & have connections.
  • There's always enough free booze to float a battleship.
  • It's usually just an excuse for networking and a right-royal-booze-up.
They're usually funded heavily by sponsorship or private companies, so I don't think they cost the tax-payer much if anything. Still, I reckon we could do without them.

theironroad

Established Member
99% * of frontline staff have no involvementin these award ceremonies and are mainly the preserve of management patting each other on the back and a very small token representation of staff.