• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Rail tickets to Hawick/Selkirk

Status
Not open for further replies.

c52

These exist for many places south of Carlisle on brfares.com, those to Manchester Airport valid on Transpennine only. Transpennine accept both towns as legitimate stations but don't offer any fares. NRE and RUK's booking engine don't recognise the town names. I think - I'm no expert - Hawick is not mentioned in the routing guide.

Can the tickets be bought?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Tazi Hupefi

223 origins to Hawick available.

Same for Selkirk

Looks like it's only Northern and Avanti West Coast offering fares on some of their flows.

The problem looks to be that the railway has not defined any timetables for services to Selkirk etc - therefore there can be no itinerary produced, as no services are loaded in the data. A ticket office could issue this and perhaps a self service machine - but only if it doesn't require use of a journey planner.

Last edited:

c52

Thank you. I'll try a ticket machine next time I'm near a station.

I didn't know that feature of brfares.

To Manchester Airport all the fares are TPE only and Advance only, so there must be some notion of a service!

infobleep

Veteran Member

223 origins to Hawick available.

Same for Selkirk

Looks like it's only Northern and Avanti West Coast offering fares on some of their flows.

The problem looks to be that the railway has not defined any timetables for services to Selkirk etc - therefore there can be no itinerary produced, as no services are loaded in the data. A ticket office could issue this and perhaps a self service machine - but only if it doesn't require use of a journey planner.