• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Scotrail trainee train driver

Trigger02

Hello folks,

I'm sorry if this has been asked before but I have been unable to find the original thread. I am currently a Firefighter and have been successful in getting to the interview stage for the role of Trainee Train Driver. I currently work a 4 on & 4 off shift pattern (48 hours) 2 x day 0800-1800 & 2 x nightshifts 1800-0800 with a consecutive 18 days off every 7 weeks.

I was wondering if someone could shed some light on how the shift system worked with Scotrail, as I have found a few examples online but all appear to be different.

Any information would be hugely appreciated.

Cheers,
T.

Last edited:
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Scotrail84

Established Member
Hello folks,

I'm sorry if this has been asked before but I have been unable to find the original thread. I am currently a Firefighter and have been successful in getting to the interview stage for the role of Trainee Train Driver. I currently work a 4 on & 4 off shift pattern (48 hours) 2 x day 0800-1800 & 2 x nightshifts 1800-0800 with a consecutive 18 days off every 7 weeks.

I was wondering if someone could shed some light on how the shift system worked with Scotrail, as I have found a few examples online but all appear to be different.

Any information would be hugely appreciated.

Cheers,
T.

Most depots are the standard 4 day week roster with a L/W every 3 weeks although smaller depots rosters may vary.

Below is just an example

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thurs Fri Sat

Week1
BO ON ON RD RD ON ON

Week 2 ON ON ON ON ON RD RD

Week 3
RD RD RD ON ON ON ON​

BO - Booked off (no Sunday)

ON - Working

RD - Rest Day