• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Some electric bus questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cymroglan

I’m quite new to taking an active interest in buses and have only recently travelled for the first (and 2nd, 3rd &4th time!) in an electric bus (Cambridge Trumpington Park & Ride). My little grandson and I were equally excited by the smart looking bus and its oh so quiet acceleration and general ride. In fact, we dodged a good hour of trailing around the shops with the rest of our family by heading back to the car park and then back to the city centre on the buses. It took some tricky domestic negotiations mind….

As I was so much in the moment and looking after junior I completely forgot to note the reg, make etc! Later research suggests they were Volvo BZLs. I think we’ve both now got our new favourite bus!

So, the questions:

1. I was wondering what more established and knowledgeable bus people make of the electric vehicles. Do they compare favourably with the buses you have always loved? I’m entirely making this up, but I wonder whether ordinary travellers and newbies like me might be more enthusiastic about them than seasoned bus enthusiasts?
  2. Is there a list available on line of uk operators with electric buses? I have discovered a fair few operators thanks to search engines, but if there is a list I would love to see it!
  3. Are there any diecast (or other) models of electric buses? Again, I have done my research but can’t see anything. I know grandson and grandad would be equally excited by such a model!
Any help appreciated!

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

PG

Established Member
If I may ask: