T&W Metro automated announcments

Discussion in 'Other Public Transport' started by Kryten2340, 8 Nov 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kryten2340

    Kryten2340 Member

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    3 Apr 2011
    Location:
    Gateshead
    Seeing as Nexus haven't put my post on their forums I thought I would post it here.

    Has anyone noticed how when you travel through Monument in either direction (well platform 1 and 2 at least, I rarely go through 3 and 4 unless going to St James on match day) how the stupid announcments state that "This train is for Newcastle City Centre". How pointless is that? The train is already in Newcastle City Centre. Surely it should be stating the destination. This is especially bad on platform 1 as that's where a lot of visitors coming form the Airport are potentially coming from and travelling through to Shields/Sunderland and it must be confusing.

    I'm all for the announcements as I understand the need but come on this is embarrassing for them surely.
     
  2. Registered users do not see these banners - join or log in today!

    Rail Forums

     
  3. 142094

    142094 Established Member

    Messages:
    8,774
    Joined:
    7 Nov 2009
    Location:
    Newcastle
    The installation has been terrible, and it feels as if it has been rushed in but not thought through enough.

    I agree about the Newcastle City Centre comment - I guess Nexus think that most people from outside the region will want to get off at the City Centre and the best placed station is Monument.
     
  4. Bridge189

    Bridge189 Member

    Messages:
    173
    Joined:
    19 Sep 2011
    I hate the voice it is by far the worst light rail voice around. The LU northern line voice would have been better
     
  5. Ze Random One

    Ze Random One Member

    Messages:
    195
    Joined:
    30 Apr 2011
    If you are talking about the new on-train PIS, then it actually says "this STATION is for Newcastle City Centre", which is helpful for tourists who may not know the relationship between the line and the city above.
     
  6. Kryten2340

    Kryten2340 Member

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    3 Apr 2011
    Location:
    Gateshead
    I meant to post back earlier on the week to admit my error as it does say this station not this train however I've just got on the metro at Regent Centre going to Gateshead and straight away BING "The next station is South Gosforth change here for trains to the Airport from platform 2". Like I'm going to do that just to go back where I've come from.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page