• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

what the..? Greater Anglia to scrap clipping train tickets to protect wrists

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

ComUtoR

Established Member
Carpal tunnel ?

I can imagine it seems a little odd on the surface but clipping 100 tickets may be fine but 10,000 tickets later and your looking at long term wrist damage*

*dammit ruk I'm a Driver not a Dr.

pemma

Veteran Member
So Abellio Anglia are concerned that conductors clipping up to 600 tickets per journey could give them RSI - sounds a reasonable assumption to me. They've used clippers making a mess as a secondary reason for proposing to get rid of them.

tsr

Established Member
At my TOC ticket clippers are not compulsory. Once trained, staff can use them or any other method they choose to prevent fraud. I usually find a headcode and date in Sharpie fineliner works OK, but I do use a hole punch if I need to go through a magstripe, and even novelty clippers at some times of year :D

Islineclear3_1

Established Member
PTSO or platform depending on the weather
You can also get RSI by holding a pen in a certain way for long periods of time :(

What'll be next, a wage increase demand for wear and tear of shoe leather?

Has there been any reported accidents in the use of clippers, i.e. clipping one's finger by mistake?

trentside

Established Member
Fares Advisor
This appears to be entirely down to Greater Anglia.

Personally, I use a mixture of clippers and sharpie markers. Never had any problems myself, but each to their own!

Last edited by a moderator:

Johnuk123

Established Member