• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

What type of camera should I buy for trainspotting??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Bletchleyite

Veteran Member
Depends what you want to do. Do you want decent quality photos of trains, or do you want to enjoy the process of photography specifically by e.g. selecting lenses, setting the exposure and focussing manually?

If the former, you should buy an iPhone 14* - there is no better compact camera. Just using a phone will also reduce the hassle you might get from some staff compared to setting up a proper camera on a tripod. If the latter, some sort of dSLR (I'm not an expert in these!)

* The Pro's third camera is mostly about close-up pics (macro). Close-up pics of trains may get you killed :)

JackOnTheMove

On Moderation
currently I am using an iPhone 7 camera o_O.I am looking to upgrade to an iPhone 11.
My mate is using a canon eos 2000D but I don't know what the camera quailty is like because I love high depth images with very nice resolution.

Bletchleyite

Veteran Member
currently I am using an iPhone 7 camera o_O.I am looking to upgrade to an iPhone 11.

I would go to a 13 at least if you can afford it. The camera on the 13 is absolutely superb, in particular its handling of low light is near-unrivalled. The 7 is pretty basic in comparison. The 14 is a smaller step from the 13. The 12 is still good but not as good.

Established Member
If the former, you should buy an iPhone 14*

I would agree with this. With a budget of £700 for a camera, I’d consider putting the whole lot towards the phone and not bothering with a separate camera.

JackOnTheMove

On Moderation