• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Are windscreen wipers on trains any good?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ainsworth74

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Global Moderator
I'm a car driver and one of the, admittedly(!), minor things that annoys me quickly is when the windscreen wipers start to streak on the windscreen. I'll soon have to clean the wipers and windscreen to stop it streaking in the rain as otherwise it gets on my nerves. Obviously for a car driver that's a simple matter of a few minutes with some water and a rag (or even kitchen towel) and worst case scenario go and buy some new blades. This isn't quite so simple for a train driver!

Hence my wondering, are windscreen wipers on trains any good? I presume it varies by unit/loco but in general? Have you ever had to hop out at a station and give them a quick clean yourself to improve the situation or are rubbish wipers something that I'd have to learn to live with if some strange twist of fate puts me in the cab? :lol:

Any suggestion that this question is excessively nerdy will be strongly refuted by the author it's clearly a matter of vital importance... ;)

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Mike Machin

This is something I have often wondered about too. The wipers on all of the cars I have owned have always been robust, with a strong regular action to them.

On BR locomotives such as the Class 47s, I can remember being amazed at the flimsy nature of the wipers, and the irregular stuttering action of them in use and could never understand how a main line locomotive could have wipers that appeared to be so inferior to my very average run-if-the-mill car.