• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

16+ Zip Fraud - What are the consequences?

Status
Not open for further replies.

londonstudent

Hi there,

I am a student in London (aged 19). In September, I used my brother's passport details to apply for a 16+ zip London oyster card. By the way, my brother does not live in the UK so he would not need it. Instead of putting his picture, I put mine. I have been using this 16+ zip oyster card since September. Today, I was stopped on a bus and asked to scan my card. The woman then asked for my driving license (as she saw it when I opened my wallet). She then confiscated the oyster card and said I would hear from the Tfl in a few days.

Obviously, I will respond to this letter, explaining everything that has happened and being perfectly honest. I will admit what I have done and agree to pay any fine. I do not have any previous offences and I only did this to save cash, as being a student in London is very expensive.

What do you think Tfl will say? Will it just be a fine or can I expect a prosecution and an entry on my criminal record? I personally think I will just get a heavy fine, but what do you all think?

Thanks

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

najaB

Veteran Member
I'm sorry to say this, but your actions go beyond "simple" fare evasion and into fraud territory - using someone else's identity documents is looked on very seriously.

The consequences could be extremely severe indeed - it's not impossible (though unlikely) that it could result in a custodial sentence.

tony_mac

Established Member
Obviously, I will respond to this letter, explaining everything that has happened and being perfectly honest. I will admit what I have done and agree to pay any fine.