• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

360 excavator driver looking for advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

i7demon

Hi guys i have my blue ticket for the 360 track machine and wanted to ask any other operators or staff what sort of work is it a driver expects to be doing? i am new to the industry but not to track machines, of cause on a building site your just doing footings/trenches ect but i can imagine the work on the railways is different can you advice pls?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

The Snap

Established Member
Hi,

If you're looking for railway civils work that is track-based (ie: green field infrastructure projects), then a 360 ticket will be fine. The work will be very similar to what you've experienced elsewhere in the construction industry.

If you're talking about working on the railway as a 360 driver (so a road-rail machine), the work is a lot different. On a typical railway shift (which would normally be a Saturday night), 360 machines (road-rail) are often used on track for moving materials and equipment to a work site from an access point, usually by towing a trailer. There'll also be a bit of lifting (precast LOC bases etc). There are bits and pieces of excavations and the like but not in any real substantial amount, simply because there isn't the time. You don't tend to get possession until after 2300hrs, isolation after 0000hrs, then get your machines on track by 0030hrs. You then will be required off-track by about 0430hrs to allow for the hand back procedure. You don't get a great deal done in that amount of time!