• Our new ticketing site is now live! Using either this or the original site (both powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Another not a datum plate query

Status
Not open for further replies.

najaB

Veteran Member
Joined
28 Aug 2011
Messages
31,425
Location
Scotland
Was just watching a video on YouTube which was filmed at Kings Cross (link). What is the yellow thing that the driver is about to step on as he couples up the 86? My first thought was ATP balise but surely it's in the wrong part of the world. Screen grab attached below.
 

Attachments

  • not a datum plate.PNG
    not a datum plate.PNG
    875 KB · Views: 162
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

ComUtoR

Established Member
Joined
13 Dec 2013
Messages
9,573
Location
UK
Looks very much like a balise.

Is it a marked sleeper for shunting purposes ? Its blurry but does it have words written on it ?
--- old post above --- --- new post below ---
Looks very much like a balise.

Is it a marked sleeper for shunting purposes ?

Gonna have to go with a balise. Checking the video (20min onwards) there are multiple ones all spaced like the balises I go over.
 

najaB

Veteran Member
Joined
28 Aug 2011
Messages
31,425
Location
Scotland
Gonna have to go with a balise. Checking the video (20min onwards) there are multiple ones all spaced like the balises I go over.
Didn't know Kings Cross was ATP enabled - any idea how much of the ECML has it? For some reason I thought it was only on the GWML. Which stock has the necessary equipment fitted?
 

ainsworth74

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Global Moderator
Joined
16 Nov 2009
Messages
28,004
Location
Redcar
This is news to me! As far as I'm aware there is no ATP equipped stock on the ECML (well some of the 180s might be I suppose)!
 

swt_passenger

Veteran Member
Joined
7 Apr 2010
Messages
31,776
Didn't know Kings Cross was ATP enabled - any idea how much of the ECML has it? For some reason I thought it was only on the GWML. Which stock has the necessary equipment fitted?

Balise doesn't always mean ATP though, there are all sorts of other balise fitted out there. There's TASS balises for tilting trains, as well as ASDO already mentioned. They aren't always physically the same either, SWT's ASDO balises are much longer and narrower, well within the width of a sleeper.
 

najaB

Veteran Member
Joined
28 Aug 2011
Messages
31,425
Location
Scotland
Balise doesn't always mean ATP though, there are all sorts of other balise fitted out there.
Oh, I knew that. I only thought ATP since they seemed to be co-located with signalling. But of course that means they are also co-located with platform ends which makes sense for SDO.
 

jopsuk

Veteran Member
Joined
13 May 2008
Messages
12,773
No SDO stock operates into Kings Cross. I guess there will be when 700s start, but I doubt the item seen is for that
 

Muzer

Established Member
Joined
3 Feb 2012
Messages
2,777
Am I going crazy? I didn't think 700s were going to operate out of King's Cross, though I haven't been keeping up with the industry for the past ~year. Is this a new development?

(Though I suppose they will during engineering works)
 

swt_passenger

Veteran Member
Joined
7 Apr 2010
Messages
31,776
No SDO stock operates into Kings Cross. I guess there will be when 700s start, but I doubt the item seen is for that

It could well be ASDO. However even if not for 700s, 387s will use ASDO, although it is highly likely 700s will be able to divert to Kings Cross, and will run into Kings Cross temporarily before the start of through running. For the system to be fail safe everywhere on a route it will still have to read an ASDO balise on entry to any full length platform, the normal use of the system is for ASDO to be switched on for the whole route by default.

However AIUI the 700's ASDO information is provided from the same balise used by their ETCS/ATO.

The Tracklink 3 system on SWT has a balise at every platform (except for the unelectrifed parts of their network), irrespective of platform length, even if 12 car or longer.
 
Last edited:

Muzer

Established Member
Joined
3 Feb 2012
Messages
2,777
It could well be SDO. For the system to be fail safe everywhere it will still have to read an SDO balise on entry to any full length platform. However the 700's SDO information is provided from the same balise used by their ETCS/ATO.

The Tracklink 3 system on SWT has a balise at every platform (except for the unelectrifed parts of their network), irrespective of platform length, even if 12 car or longer.
Indeed --- if no balise is detected, it fails safe to opening 3 coaches (on a 444 at least) IIRC --- as that's the shortest platform an SWT passenger service will need to stop at.
 

Phil.

Established Member
Joined
10 Oct 2015
Messages
1,323
Location
Penzance
Was just watching a video on YouTube which was filmed at Kings Cross (link). What is the yellow thing that the driver is about to step on as he couples up the 86? My first thought was ATP balise but surely it's in the wrong part of the world. Screen grab attached below.

Driver coupling up? My, times have changed.
 

Domh245

Established Member
Joined
6 Apr 2013
Messages
8,425
Location
nowhere
I think I spotted a similar thing under the bridge at Wimbledon, so 700 related would make sense.
 

ainsworth74

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Global Moderator
Joined
16 Nov 2009
Messages
28,004
Location
Redcar
Driver coupling up? My, times have changed.

Indeed but Kings Cross has no need for shunters these days as all the units have auto-couplers and the loco hauled sets are fixed formation.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Top