• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Caledonian Sleeper Logo

Status
Not open for further replies.

monkey

Hi Guys!

First of all I'm no rail expert so be gentle with me! :D But I am a graphic designer - anyway I do have fascination with the Caledonian Sleeper, its perhaps not as glamorous as many other sleepers in the world, but having used it during the course of this project (more about that in a bit) I adore it and I'd be hard pressed to find a better service experience on the UK rail network - will deffo be using it again if I have the chance.

Anyway as you guys know ScotRail has recently had an identity change, including the livery, designed by the lovely chaps at RedPath in Edinburgh, which is permanent for the forseeable future. This made me think what would happen to the CalSleeper? In my mind it is the perfect opportunity, to create a sub-brand with real value that would last for a long time, and hopefully secure it's long term future, something that could compete with air travel. As it just happens I was leaving Edinburgh at the end of July to London for a music festival - perfect chance to use the CalSleeper! for the past year I would arrive really late into Waverely and I'd see the Sleeper at platform 11 as I was waiting to be picked up, and used to wonder - and now I had an excuse to experience it,woohoo! and to add to the experience, at this time I also had self initiated, summer submission to do for my degree course, I do at Leeds College of Art, and I looked no further than to use this as my brief. Obviously if this was real I'd been briefed by Transport for Scotland, so I had to think like them to write it.... you can read it on my blog: http://volcanicash.tumblr.com/ .

tumblr_koulq5wtFA1qzr9duo1_400.jpg