• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Daughter new job in Manchester

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tazi Hupefi

Apologies for delving into a forum area that I have little knowledge about!

My daughter is leaving the rural East Midlands (she's thrilled!), and going to start a new role in Manchester.

Her mother and I will be making a rather large financial contribution to get her set up, but we want it to be perfect (and easy!) seeing how hard she has worked so far!

We're looking for somewhere that would be within 1 hour of central Manchester, with semi-regular services, preferably with First Class service. Her preferences so far have been around Chester and Liverpool (friends etc), so more around that part of the North West.

(Renting, no more than £900 pcm).

The ease and cost of commuting may swing it, so I'd be extremely appreciative for any assistance here on the forum for your input, in terms of suggesting any towns/cities and the best season ticket to buy (if you know any good value ones!).

To summarise the travel element:

Start the journey anywhere (nice) within 1 hour of Central Manchester, in the direction of Liverpool/Chester, (it would be nice to be able to use the ticket to both anyway).

12 months

Preferably First Class, if it's available and means a guaranteed seat.

Hopefully a good choice of what you seem to call "permitted" routes.

I don't really want to pay more than £5000 for the ticket.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

telstarbox

Established Member
Personally I'd live in the city centre and walk to work but given your criteria, how about Altrincham? Tram straight into city centre for work. Train to Chester and tram + train to Liverpool.

Tazi Hupefi