• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Double deck trains in the UK

Status
Not open for further replies.

Traindesign

I am a rolling stock design engineer, i would be interested to hear the opinion of the people here regarding double deck trains here in the UK. I have an interesting suite of designs which will be launced early next year, these are both for passenger and frieght.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

richw

Veteran Member
I am a rolling stock design engineer, i would be interested to hear the opinion of the people here regarding double deck trains here in the UK. I have an interesting suite of designs which will be launced early next year, these are both for passenger and frieght.

wouldnt tunnels be too low for them, but i think they would be great, more seats in a train of the same size, less standing and overcrowding etc

WatcherZero

Established Member
The HS2 specific trains will be duplex supposedly, up in the air whether the classic compatible will be as well.

thelem

It could be practical on HS2, although I'd be surprised if that needed the capacity of double deck yet seeing as we're currently doing fine without any line at all.

The two main problems are they are too tall to go under bridges and through tunnels, so would need lots of engineering work (although I believe all new build bridges and tunnels are meant to be big enough for double deck). Particularly a problem on long distance routes due to the number of miles.

The other issue is the loading speed / dwell time - no good having more seats per train if you can't run as many of them. Particularly a problem on metro services due to frequent stops.

LE Greys

Established Member