• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Driver Line Managers

Status
Not open for further replies.

insane_lewis

Just out of interest,

What are the pay scales like for a driver line manager, especially GTR. Im currently a driver and enjoy the actual driving, but looking at maybe dropping out of the shift work.

Just weighing up my options and cant find any information online,

Thanks

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

HLE

Established Member
Your first part of the username....quick, get him!

LCC106

Established Member
Seems to depend on experience at our place. Remember though that they often work 5 days a week, can be on call 24/7 on a rota system and don’t get paid overtime so in real terms are on less pay than drivers effectively and you might prefer the shift work with some rest day working. If you want to come off shift work then that’s the price to pay.

Stigy

Established Member
It does vary between TOC/FOC and some have two tiers (some who are drivers and hold that competency and some who don’t). A lot of the time drivers earn more than their managers too.

As has been said also, managers work a 5 day week usually and are part of an on-call roster. Plus, they can get a lot of grief and are arguably not as ‘looked after’ as these they manage, by the company.

Need2

Just out of interest,

What are the pay scales like for a driver line manager, especially GTR. Im currently a driver and enjoy the actual driving, but looking at maybe dropping out of the shift work.

Just weighing up my options and cant find any information online,

Thanks

At Thameslink they are called CDM's (competancy development managers) and are on approx £67-69k (from memory)