• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Ear-shattering noise at STP platforms

Status
Not open for further replies.

STPBTN

I wanted to post here to find out if anyone else feels strongly about the high levels of noise that the trains make at the southern end of the Thameslink platforms at St Pancras. Every time a northbound 319 comes out of the tunnel, the screeching sound it makes actually hurts my ears. On quite a few mornings, I've seen some passengers hold their hands over their ears.

I have no engineering background so I don't know what causes the sound or whether there is any way to rectify the situation. I gather it's made worse by the fact that the station is underground so the sound echoes off the walls. What entity would be the right one to approach for this? OSHA? Network Rail?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

EM2

Established Member
It has been checked by the relevant authorities and has been found to be within safe levels for short lengths of time. It is recommended that staff who are required to work in the area for an extended period should wear ear defenders.

ainsworth74

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Global Moderator
I have no engineering background so I don't know what causes the sound or whether there is any way to rectify the situation. I gather it's made worse by the fact that the station is underground so the sound echoes off the walls. What entity would be the right one to approach for this? OSHA? Network Rail?

I would suggest that OSHA are unlikely to be interested in an issue on the UK railway network...