• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

East Coast: Ticket machine or post more reliable?

Status
Not open for further replies.

coaster

Hello,

I will shortly be doing Kings X to Newcastle off-peak return, similar to my last journey (no cards or discounts):

http://www.railforums.co.uk/showthread.php?t=68640

I will be using East Coast again (probably separate tickets for outward and return, depending on cost), as advised to me last year. I won't know my journey dates until Monday or Tuesday (8th/9th April 2013).

If my outward journey date will be at least 3 days after I have booked it, I will have my tickets sent by post - if less, I will use my debit card to pick up the tickets from the Kings X ticket machine. I have never used the machine at Kings X before - does anybody know if the queues are long (10am to 3:30pm-ish)? In any case, I always turn up at least 40 minutes before my train is due to leave and have never missed one.

Actually, I had my tickets posted to me last year, and they arrived the very next day after booking, but generally I suspect it's unwise to depend on less than 3 days.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

calc7

Established Member
At those times of day I would be surprised if you have to queue more than a minute for any of the many ticket machines at London Kings Cross. (Most people are arriving in London at that point). I have never had a technical issue collecting tickets from its TVMs.

coaster

At those times of day I would be surprised if you have to queue more than a minute for any of the many ticket machines at London Kings Cross. (Most people are arriving in London at that point). I have never had a technical issue collecting tickets from its TVMs.