• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Fare Evasion: My silly mistake...

Status
Not open for further replies.

avrilpowers

Hello, I’m hoping somebody can help me.

Yes, I’m one of those silly people that tried to get a cheaper ticket on the the train, so please, no judging, I just need some help. I am in a complete mess and panicking about a criminal record as I work as a teacher and one moment of complete stupidness is ruining my life at the moment.

In June 2018 I boarded the Arriva Trains Wales service from Llanelli to Cardiff. I am not a regular train user but was taking advantage of the service this day as I was visiting Cardiff for an Ed Sheeran concert.

As there was a large queue at the ticket office when we arrived me and my friends decided to purchase our tickets on the train, alike I had done on the rare occasion that I have used trains in the past. By the time we had got to Cardiff nobody had been around to sell tickets, so we followed the queue to purchase tickets at the barriers.

When purchasing my ticket, in a split moment of what I can only put down to severe error and lack of judgement, I requested to purchase a ticket from Bridgend, a nearer station to my final destination, alike what a friend had told me that they had done in the past. This very poor and foolish decision was not properly considered at all and was completely out of character after a couple of alcoholic drinks. I was then spoken to by an authorised member of staff who informed me that I could not have possibly got on at Bridgend due to a barrier system being in place and I had broken the law. He took my details. I was very apologetic and offered to pay my fare but I was informed that it was too late.