• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Govia Thameslink Notice Of Intention To Prosecute

Status
Not open for further replies.

MyMateMorris

Hi All,

About a month ago I was caught evading a fare from Epsom to Horsham. I purchased a ticket from Epsom - Ashtead (first station after Epsom) then planned on purchasing another ticket from Little Haven to Horsham (first station before Horsham). In addition to this, I had a 16-17 saver card that had expired the week before as I had just turned 18 and had genuinely forgotten to remove it from my Train-line account. It’s a stupid mistake and I should have just purchased a ticket from Epsom to Horsham. I’m a student though and just didn’t really think about any of the consequences that would follow if I was caught. But hay hoe we move. Lessons are learned.

So yesterday I received the Notice Of Intention To Prosecute in the post. This was concerning, to begin with however from what I’ve read on here already it’s not as bad as it sounds. (Correct me if I’m wrong)

My question to you is what should I do next. I plan on replying to the letter it’s just how do I go about it.

Stupidly, when being questioned about the situation I said my intentions weren’t to evade the fair, my plans just changed while I was on the train and I planned to get a new ticket if I saw a conductor. However, I’d much rather be honest about the whole thing but not sure if that’s the best idea. I don't think the issue is with the 16-17 saver card as it wasn't listed in the alleged offenses.

Any help will be much appreciated

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Haywain

Veteran Member