• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Hillsborough Disaster - Some Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

whhistle

On Moderation
I have very little knowledge of what happened but wanted to ask a couple of questions about this event.

From reading online, the police opened a gate that allowed even more supporters into an area that caused a crush where people died.

I accept the police are not innocent as they constantly blamed the fans, when they do need to share some responsibility.

But surely, and ultimately, there were too many tickets sold for the event - and that lies with the club? Greed before safety?

And surely, the fans had a choice. They could see it was very busy, so why not move to a less busy area or accept you won't be able to get in to the stadium to see the match?

Both the fans and the ticket sales have been downplayed when I'd have thought they are equal to the police allowing fans in. It's not like the fans were forced to move in to that area though? But then I see this with train travel. Some people fail to understand it's a choice. They could get a new job, learn to drive, get a taxi - all of which are probably inpractical but the option is still there; it's just less hassle to catch the train.

I don't understand why some people of Liverpool refuse to sell/buy The Sun. I get they printed headlines suggesting it was the fans fault, but even now, after all these years, I don't really understand why some people still hold a grudge?